City holidays

The City of Minneapolis observes certain holidays. City offices are closed on these days.

Overview

Here's what's closed, continued as usual or delayed on City holidays:

  • City offices: City offices will be closed on these days. 
  • Essential services: The City will continue to provide essential services, including fire, police, 911, sewer and water.
  • Garbage and recycling: Some essential services, such as garbage and recycling, will be postponed by a day after some major holidays.
    See holiday garbage and recycling collection schedule
  • Minneapolis Impound Lot: The impound lot hours of operation can be different than other City offices.
    See holiday Impound Lot schedule

2022 holidays observed

MonthHolidayDate observed
January
New Year's Day 2022
(observed the day before)
Friday, December 31, 2021
  Martin Luther King Jr. Day Monday, January 17, 2022
February Presidents Day Monday, February 21, 2022
May Memorial Day Monday, May 30, 2022
June Juneteenth (observed the day after) Monday, June 20, 2022
July Independence Day Monday, July 4, 2022
September Labor Day Monday, September 5, 2022
October Indigenous Peoples Day Monday, October 10, 2021
November Veterans Day Friday, November 11, 2022
  Thanksgiving Day Thursday, November 24, 2022
  Day after Thanksgiving Friday, November 25, 2022
December Christmas
(observed the day after)
Monday, December 26, 2022

 

Contact us

Minneapolis 311

Hours

7 a.m. – 7 p.m.
Monday – Friday

See list of City holidays