Minneapolis Impound Lot
Why we tow vehicles
We may tow your vehicle for a number of reasons including
- Being illegally parked or blocking traffic
- By police order (for example, if it's been in an accident, stolen or involved in a crime)
- Violating snow emergency rules
- Blocking street sweeping, seal coating or street maintenance crews or vehicles
- If it's abandoned
- If it poses a danger to public safety
Getting your vehicle back
Picking up your vehicle yourself
Vehicles can be released to the registered owner or a relative with the same last name. To have your vehicle released, you or a relative with the same last name must pay the fees and show the following information:
- Proof of insurance in your name
- Current registration, title or lease agreement
- License plate number or Vehicle Identification Number (VIN)
- Picture ID such as a driver's license or Minnesota ID card
A licensed driver is required to drive the vehicle from the lot. You may also have the vehicle towed from the lot.
Authorizing someone else to pick up your vehicle
Someone other than the registered owner or a relative with the same last name may pick up the vehicle or remove property from it if they have a notarized statement from the registered owner that includes:
- The name of the authorized person
- A photocopy of the registered owner’s ID or driver’s license
- The license plate number or Vehicle Identification Number (VIN)
- The make and year of the vehicle
Notarized statements can be brought in person or faxed to the Impound Lot.
Picking up a rental car
To pick up a rental vehicle, you must present the rental agreement and an ID or driver’s license that matches the name on the agreement. In some cases, the rental company has to fax an authorization letter with the name of the person who can pick up the vehicle. View the Impound Lot fax number
|Standard tow charge||$138|
|Daily storage rate||$18 per day (assessed at midnight)|
|Heavy-duty tow||$204.50 plus winch time at $94.50 per half-hour|
How to pay fees
You can pay impound fees with
- Check or money order (personal, cashier or traveler's)
- Credit card (Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover)
We'll also issue any parking citations when we release a towed vehicle. You may pay these fines by mail in the envelope provided or at the Hennepin County Violations Bureau
Reasons we may hold your vehicle
If you have 5 or more unpaid parking citations, we will not release your vehicle until you pay all fines and present a letter from the Hennepin County Violations Bureau confirming you've done so.
If you have any citations in collections, you must pay those fines in person at the Minnesota Department of Revenue, then bring the receipts to the Hennepin County Violations Bureau and get a letter confirming you've paid all fines.
Vehicles involved in a crime must be cleared of any police holds. For details on clearing a police hold, call the Minneapolis Impound Lot
We'll release impounded vehicles to repossessors who
- Present an Affidavit of Repossession
- Pay the towing and storage fees
We can not hold vehicles for repossessors. If the registered owner comes in first and meets the requirements for release explained in "Getting your vehicle back" above, they'll be allowed to take the vehicle.
Search the Impound Lot
Minneapolis Impound Lot
50 Van White Memorial Blvd
Minneapolis, MN 55405
Regular operating hours
8 a.m. – 10 p.m.
Monday – Saturday
9 a.m. – 5 p.m.
Snow Emergency hours
Open 24 hours. On Day 3, plowing ends at 8 p.m. and we stay open until 1 a.m. (the next day). We then go back to our regular operating hours.
We are closed on City holidays that fall on Monday-Friday. If the holiday falls on Saturday or Sunday, but is observed on Friday or Monday, the Impound Lot is closed on the Saturday or Sunday, and open on the Friday or Monday.