Government structure

The City operates under an “Executive Mayor – Legislative Council” system of government.

Our form of city government


City Council adopted the Government Structure Ordinance and Mayor Frey signed it on October 20, 2022. The new structure features four direct reports to the Mayor:

  • City Operations Officer to lead the Office of Public Service
  • Community Safety Commissioner to lead the Office of Community Safety
  • City Attorney to function as the chief legal officer of the City and head of its legal department
  • Chief of Staff to manage the Office of Mayor

The plan creates two new offices:

  • The Office of Public Service joins all operational departments under the centralized leadership of the City Operations Officer.
  • The Office of Community Safety integrates the work of all community safety departments and functions under the leadership of the Community Safety Commissioner.

For background on how he came to this proposal, see the recommendations of the Government Structure Work Group.

Read the Work Group report

In November 2021, Minneapolis voters approved an amendment to the City Charter to adopt an Executive Mayor - Legislative Council form of government.

Learn more about the charter amendment

Request accessible format

If you need help with this information, please email 311, or call 311 or 612-673-3000.

Please tell us what format you need. It will help us if you say what assistive technology you use.

Office of City Clerk




Mailing address

City Hall
350 Fifth St. S., Room 304
Minneapolis, MN 55415

Temporary office location

250 S. Fourth St., Room 100
Minneapolis, MN 55415

Office hours

8:30 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.
Monday – Friday

See list of City holidays