Saturday hours for Early Vote Center begin this weekend

July 26, 2022

Saturday hours for the Minneapolis Early Vote Center at 980 E. Hennepin Ave. begin this weekend for the Aug. 9 primary election. For the next two weekends, July 30 and Aug. 6, the center will be open Saturdays from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. The Early Vote Center hours can be found at

Early voting is easy

Any voter can vote early; no reason is needed. Early in-person voting is convenient. It especially helps voters who need special accommodations, such as language support, that the extra time, attention and onsite resources of early in-person voting afford more readily than the polls might on the day of the election.

People can also vote early by mail. Please allow enough time to complete the process by mail; it can take longer than seven days depending on where your ballot is sent. Mail ballot applications are available at and may be submitted anytime before an election.

Plan ahead

  • Make sure you’re registered to vote. Voters can register or check the status of their registrations at Voters who need to register or update their existing registration should plan to bring proof of residence when they vote.
  • Look at a sample ballot ahead of time; even bring it to refer to when you go to vote. You can find sample ballots for all 137 Minneapolis precincts at

State law allows voters to bring materials into the polls to help complete their ballots — and the sample ballot is the single, best tool available for this purpose. By downloading and printing their sample ballots (which are customized to their specific ward and precinct), voters can practice marking their ballots. They can bring this marked-up sample ballot as a reference to the voting booth when completing their official ballots. This is the best way to reduce the time spent waiting in lines.

What’s on the ballot?

Minneapolis voters will cast ballots for the following primary races:

  • United States representative (District 5)
  • Governor/lieutenant governor
  • Secretary of State
  • Attorney general
  • Minnesota State senator (Districts 62 and 63)
  • Minnesota State representative (District 62A)
  • County sheriff
  • County attorney
  • Minneapolis School Board (At-Large and District 5)

Other offices will appear only on the General Election ballot.