Mayor Frey convening small business, labor and nonprofit leaders for Economic Recovery Work Group

November 23, 2021

Minneapolis Mayor Jacob Frey has formed the second of three external work groups focused on developing recommendations responsive to his administration’s transition priorities. The three groups will be dedicated to the new government structure, inclusive economic recovery, and community safety strategies and reform.

The economic recovery advisory work group will be co-chaired by PJ Hill and Adam Duininck. Hill is a Minneapolis native and graduate of North Community High School. Hill is an accomplished financial advisor, entrepreneur, and is the Vice President of the Minneapolis NAACP chapter. Duininck is the Director of Government Affairs for North Central States Regional Council of Carpenters (NCSRCC) and served on the Metropolitan Council of the Twin Cities for more than six years, nearly half that time spent as chair.

“We won’t achieve economic inclusion by simply returning to the old normal, we must do more,” said Frey. “This talented group, full of diverse perspectives, will help set the tone to strengthen inclusive recovery efforts, rebound in full, and come back stronger than ever.”

The economic recovery advisory work group will meet for the first time in early December and will deliver its recommendations to Mayor Frey early next year.

“The impacts of the pandemic have not been felt evenly across all communities and the distribution of recovery resources needs to reflect that reality,” said Hill. “I have heard loud and clear the specific needs of the communities most impacted and I stand ready to make sure their voices are heard in this shared push to rebuild Minneapolis stronger than ever before.”

“The values of Minneapolis families and workers will be our foundation as we assemble recommendations for an inclusive recovery,” said Duininck. “Our team will leverage our collective strengths and experiences as we rebuild our city’s economy with equitable policies and strategic investments. We look forward to working closely with Mayor Frey to deliver results for the people of Minneapolis.”

During the transition period to his second term, the three groups will meet regularly and deliver a series of recommendations for the mayor’s consideration during his second term.

The full list of confirmed participants in the economic recovery workgroup is available here: 

  • Adam Duininck (Co-Chair), Director of Government Affairs, North Central States Regional Council of Carpenters; previously chair and council member of Metropolitan Council of the Twin Cities
  • PJ Hill (Co-Chair), Vice President, NAACP; Financial Advisor, NorthRock Partners; Board Treasurer and Finance Committee member, Juxtaposition Arts
  • Andrea Brennan (staff), Director, City of Minneapolis Department of Economic Development and Employment
  • Kenya McKnight Ahad, CEO and Founder, Black Women’s Wealth Alliance
  • Stu Ackerberg, Owner and CEO, The Ackerberg Group
  • Tonya Allen, President, McKnight Foundation
  • Saeed Bihi, Opportunity Center Manager, Cedar Riverside Opportunity Center
  • Antonio Cardona, Vice President for Career Readiness, Project for Pride in Living; Adjunct faculty, MCTC
  • Dan Collison, Director of Downtown Partnerships, Minneapolis Downtown Council; Executive Director, ETBP & NüLoop Partners
  • Renay Dossman, President, Neighborhood Development Center; Owner, Renay Dossman Coaching and Consulting; Owner, Fat Chance Restaurant
  • Roberta Downing, Assistant Vice President for Policy, Community Development and the Center for Indian Country Development, Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis
  • Chelsie Glaubitz Gabiou, President, Minneapolis Regional Labor Federation
  • Dr. Joe Hobot, President and CEO, American Indian OIC; Adjunct faculty, Falmouth institute
  • Henry Jimenez, Executive Director, Latino Economic Development Center
  • Louis King, President and CEO, Summit Academy OIC; previous board member, Minneapolis Club
  • Alfredo Martel, President and CEO, MEDA
  • Peter McLaughlin, Executive Director, Twin Cities LISC; previous Hennepin County Commissioner for District 4, Minnesota House of Representatives member
  • Anisha Murphy, Director of Community Enhancement, Community Reinvestment Fund; Founder, Just Law LLC
  • Sadio Ismail, nurse, entrepreneur, Women Leaders in the East African Community
  • Yoom Nguyen, Owner, Lotus Restaurant
  • Eva Rasmussen, Senior Vice President of Strategy and eBanking, Northeast State Bank
  • Nina Robertson, Vice President of Programs, African American Leadership Forum
  • Mohamed Ali Farah, Executive Director, Kajoog Lee
  • Allison Sharkey, Executive Director, Lake Street Council
  • Jonathan Weinhagen, President and CEO, Minneapolis Regional Chamber of Commerce
  • David Wellington, President, Wellington Management, Inc.
  • Houston White, Owner, Houston White Apparel & Accessories; Founder, Houston White Men’s Room; Owner, The Get Down Coffee Co.
  • Stella Whitney-West, CEO, NorthPoint Health & Wellness Center