Police chief and administration

We provide public safety services to support our environment and quality of life.


The Minneapolis Police Department (MPD) administration strives to 

  • Maintain employees' professional integrity
  • Create an organization with superior performance

The department has a decentralized command structure:

  • Chief
  • Assistant Chief
  • Deputy Chiefs
  • Chief of Staff
  • Precinct Inspectors
  • Commanders



  • Chief of Police, Brian O'Hara
  • Assistant Chief of Community Trust, Christopher Gaiters
  • Assistant Chief of Operations, Katie Blackwell
  • Deputy Chief of Constitutional Policing, Travis Glampe
  • Deputy Chief of Investigations, Jason Case
  • Deputy Chief of Patrol, Jonathon Kingsbury
  • Deputy Chief of Professional Standards, Mark Montgomery

Precinct Inspectors

  • Inspector Bill Peterson, First Precinct
  • Inspector Nicholas Torborg, Second Precinct
  • Inspector Jose Gomez, Third Precinct 
  • Inspector Charlie Adams, Fourth Precinct 
  • Inspector Christie Nelson, Fifth Precinct 

Contact us

Minneapolis Police Department


City Hall
350 Fifth St. S., Room 130
Minneapolis, MN 55415

Office hours

8 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.
Monday – Friday

See list of City holidays

Connect with the Minneapolis Police Department