City Council honors winners of 2009 Martin Luther King essay contest

The Minneapolis City Council honored nine Minneapolis students who were chosen as winners of the 2009 Martin Luther King Essay Contest at the beginning of its Jan. 23 City Council meeting.

The Martin Luther King essay contest is sponsored each year by the Minneapolis Department of Civil Rights and the Minneapolis Commission on Civil Rights. Nearly 200 essays were entered this year, and three winners were chosen from the 6th, 7th, and 8th grades, and honorable mention from the 6th and 8th grades.

Honored for their essay writing efforts were:

8th Grade:

1st place Madeline Hillyer, Anthony Middle School
2nd place – Stephen Jacobs, Anthony Middle School
3rd place – Megan Lucas, Anthony Middle School
Honorable Mention- Marissa Nicol, Anthony Middle School

7th Grade:

1st place Liam Smith, Anthony Middle School
2nd place – Mackenzie Martin, Anthony Middle School
3rd Place – Benjamin Weil, Anthony Middle School

6th Grade:

1st place Madeline Skjervold, Lake Harriet Community School
2nd place – Samantha Coffler, Lake Harriet Community School
3rd place – Sarah Kate Stone, Lake Harriet Community School
Honorable Mention- Mathew Wright, Lake Harriet Community School

The first place winners read a part of their essay at the ceremony, and one of their essays will be sent to the State Human Rights Commission for inclusion in the statewide essay contest this March.

Jan. 27, 2009

Published Jan 27, 2009