Minneapolis Police honor officers and staff at award ceremony

Chief William McManus and the Minneapolis Police Department honored several officers at an award ceremony on Thursday, July 21 at Minneapolis City Hall. In addition, the US Secret Service also recognized Lt. Bill Whisney and the departments Emergency Response Unit for their work in breaking up a foreign fraud ring in 2002 and for assisting the Secret Service during the multiple visits to the Twin Cities by presidential candidates during the 2004 presidential elections.

Chief McManus with Minneapolis officers and staff honored at the July 21 awards ceremony. Sgt. Mihelick, Off. Loveland and Off. Strauss were not able to attend and are not pictured here.

The department honored the following officers and staff at the awards ceremony:

Medal of Honor

Off. Christopher House

National PAL Volunteer Award

Off. Rich Jackson

US Secret Service Recognition

Lt. Bill Whisney
Members of Emergency Response Unit

Medal of Valor

Sgt. Rick Altonen
Sgt. Robert Barry
Sgt. Matt Clark
Off. Michael Geere
Off. Clint Letch
Off. Nicholas McCarthy
Off. Mike Strauss (on military LOA)

Chief’s Award of Merit

Ahmed Hassan
Sgt. Gregg Mihelick
Lt. David Hayhoe
Lt. Mike Kjos
Lt. Rick Thomas

Life Saving Award

Sgt. Rick Doll, Park PD
Off. James Loveland
Off. Charles Greaves
Off. Mark Madich

Published Jul 21, 2005



Contact us

Email updates

Find a service

About this site

For employees

For reasonable accommodations or alternative formats, contact 311.
People who are deaf or hard of hearing can use a relay service to call 311 at 612-673-3000.
TTY users can call 612-673-2157 or 612-673-2626.

Para asistencia 612-673-2700, Yog xav tau kev pab, hu 612-637-2800, Hadii aad Caawimaad u baahantahay 612-673-3500. 


311 call center

TTY relay service

City of Minneapolis Facebook City of Minneapolis Twitter City of Minneapolis YouTube ChaNNEL Minneapolis 311 Minneapolis 14 Government TV City of Minneapolis LinkedIn

Minneapolis, City of Lakes logo