Police chief recognizes ‘unsung heroes’

Police Chief Janeé Harteau recognized residents, civilian employees and law enforcement officers last week for their outstanding efforts to keep the city safe. 


Harteau highlighted bravery, heroism and selflessness in an award ceremony as she recounted stories of award recipients saving lives, preventing gang and gun violence, keeping drugs off Minneapolis streets, solving a rash of robberies and more.


All told, 37 Minneapolis police officers received Awards of Merit, Lifesaving Awards, Awards of Excellence in Investigation and Medals of Valor. 


“This is one of my favorite events,” Harteau said. “It’s a chance to honor both incredible police work and the citizen and community contributions that keep our streets safe.  We have a lot of unsung heroes in our department, and it’s important that we let the public know how their courageous and skillful actions save lives and solve crimes.”  


Police Chief Janeé Harteau congratulates officers Laurarose Turner and Chad Meyer and Lt. Mike Fossum on receiving the Medal of Valor.


Here is the list of honorees:


Medal of Valor

Lt. Mike Fossum                                                            

Officer Chad Meyer

Officer Laurarose Turner


Lifesaving award

Sgt. Rick Doll, Park Police                                        

Sgt. Robert Helmeke, Park Police                                        

Officer Benjamin Bauer                                                               

Officer Andrew Hanson

Officer Steve Herron                                                                   

Officer Larry Krebsbach

Officer Sean McTaggart                                                               

Officer Dennis Milner

Officer Jason Okerberg                                                

Officer Joseph Osuji

Officer Deanna Rivard                                                  

Officer Cory Taylor

Officer Sam Xiong, Park Police                                        

Park Patrol Agent Sean Hyman


Excellence in Investigation

Lt. Mike Fossum                                                            

Sgt. Walter Carlson

Sgt. Jesse Garcia                                                   

Retired Sgt. Jeffrey Harvey

Sgt. Richard Jackson                                                            

Officer Tim Eck                                                

Officer David Ligneel (2)                                                             

Officer David Palmer    

Mary Cunningham         


Chief’s Award of Merit

Sgt. Jeff Egge                                                                         

Sgt. Joey Sandberg              

Officer Carlos Baires Escobar                                                     

Officer Todd Kurth          

Officer Frank Kutz                                                                          

Officer Daryl McKenna                                                 

Officer Dave Menter                                                                     

Officer Victor Mills

Officer Kenneth Tidgwell                                                           

Nicole Archbold

SA Denise Bechthold, Bureau of Criminal Apprehension                                                          

Sherenia Gibbs, Park Board

Crime Prevention Specialist Sue Roethele                                                                           

Firefighter Robert Sayers                            


Chief’s Award of Merit Certificate

Minneapolis Downtown Improvement District and members of the Youth Coordinating Board

Akim Anderson                               

Latoya Balogun

Evan Barnett     

James Everett                  

Johnell Hallman              

Tangene Hayslett

Bryon Hawkins                

Wendell Johnson           

Sarah Klouda

Terrall Lewis                                     

Dave Marcotte 

Jernell McLane

Tameika Williams                          

Darrell Young   

Amged Yusuf

Shane Zahn       


Outstanding Employee Pin

Cmdr Chris Granger                                                         

Sergeant Twila Villella

Officer Carlos Baires Escobar                                     

Officer Czaw Vah

Officer Kou Vang                                                                            

Officer Alice White


Citizen’s Award of Commendation

Nankishore Raghubir





Published Feb 19, 2014



Contact us

Email updates

Find a service

About this site

For employees

For reasonable accommodations or alternative formats, contact 311.
People who are deaf or hard of hearing can use a relay service to call 311 at 612-673-3000.
TTY users can call 612-673-2157 or 612-673-2626.

Para asistencia 612-673-2700, Yog xav tau kev pab, hu 612-637-2800, Hadii aad Caawimaad u baahantahay 612-673-3500. 


311 call center

TTY relay service

City of Minneapolis Facebook City of Minneapolis Twitter City of Minneapolis YouTube ChaNNEL Minneapolis 311 Minneapolis 14 Government TV City of Minneapolis LinkedIn

Minneapolis, City of Lakes logo