Minneapolis wraps up second ranked-choice voting election

With the City Council’s certification of the city’s 2013 municipal election, Minneapolis has now wrapped up its second election to use ranked-choice voting. In this election, 81,527 ballots were cast bringing voter turnout to 34 percent, compared to 20 percent in the last municipal election, which was held in 2009.

Here are some important numbers from this election:

The election winners:

Mayor: Betsy Hodges

City Council Ward 1: Kevin Reich

City Council Ward 2: Cam Gordon

City Council Ward 3: Jacob Frey

City Council Ward 4: Barbara Johnson

City Council Ward 5: Blong Yang

City Council Ward 6: Abdi Warsame

City Council Ward 7: Lisa Goodman

City Council Ward 8: Elizabeth Glidden

City Council Ward 9: Alondra Cano

City Council Ward 10: Lisa Bender

City Council Ward 11: John Quincy

City Council Ward 12: Andrew Johnson

City Council Ward 13: Linea Palmisano

Board of Estimate and Taxation: Carol Becker and David Wheeler

Park and Recreation Board at-large: John Erwin, Annie Young, and Meg Forney

Park and Recreation Board District 1: Liz Wielinski

Park and Recreation Board District 2: Jon Olson

Park and Recreation Board District 3: Scott Vreeland

Park and Recreation Board District 4: Anita Tabb

Park and Recreation Board District 5: Steffanie Musich

Park and Recreation Board District 6: Brad Bourn

City question 1: Yes

City question 2: Yes

To see detailed results for these races, visit vote.minneapolismn.gov.


Published Nov 13, 2013