Public Works honors its highest performing employees

Each month, Public Works employees have the opportunity to nominate someone from their department for recognition for exceptional work or service to the public. Then, once a year, the department chooses annual winners from this pool of monthly honorees. On Feb. 26, six Public Works employees were honored before the City Council’s Transportation and Public Works Committee.

To select the recipients of the 2012 Year-end High Performance Employee awards, an employee committee reviewed each of the monthly award winners and selected recipients in one of four award categories.

Since the award program’s inception in 2005, this program has honored 501 Public Works employees for outstanding work.

2012 Year-end High Performance Award winners

Customer Service Award –
Mark Clark, Transportation Maintenance & Repair Division

Mark Clark, the maintenance crew leader assigned to the Loring Greenway, was honored for his attitude, diligence and care of the greenway. Many respondents who participated in the greenway user survey mentioned Mark by name.

Award of Valor -
Nick Thompson and Tom Govoent, Water Treatment & Distribution Division

Nick Thompson and Tom Govoent were honored for their efforts to resuscitate a man they saw lying face down in the snow as they were driving back to their office. When they stopped to check on the man, they found him unresponsive. After getting permission from 911, they started chest compressions and continued to assist the victim until the fire department took over. Although the person did not make it, Tom and Nick deserve recognition for taking quick action and doing their best to help a resident.

Safety Award -
Jim Buesing, Water Treatment & Distribution Division

Jim Buesing was recognized for his efforts to keep employees and the public safe. Jim has gone above and beyond his duties as a water service worker by earning certification from the State of Minnesota as a flagging trainer. Since receiving his certification, Jim has trained approximately 600 public works employees on flagging operations and procedures.

Award for Innovation/Continuous Improvement -
Joe Casey and Barbara McCloud, Transportation Planning & Engineering Division

Joe Casey and Barbara McCloud were honored for their leadership and enthusiasm as well as the innovative techniques they used to evaluate sidewalks for compliance with the requirements of the American Disabilities Act. Thanks to their efforts, more than 16,000 sidewalks were evaluated in half the time and at half the cost originally estimated for the project.

Monthly 2012 award honorees

Listed alphabetically below are all the Public Works employees were honored with a monthly recognition award sometime during 2012.

April Alejandrino
Ryan Armstrong
Ron Bohan
Jim Buesing
Joe Casey
Mark Clark
Ann Flis
Jim Glenn
Tom Govoent
Brad Gunderson
Bill Gustafson
William Gustafson
Matt Hanan
Brian Hare (intern)
Dan Johnson
Bob Larson Sr.
Steve Learned
Andy Matthiesen
BJ McCloud
Gary Partyka
Nick Thompson
Tim Thoreson
Jim Vanhall
Ruben Vazquez
Corey Webster
Charlie Westerman



Published Feb 27, 2013



Contact us

Email updates

Find a service

About this site

For employees

For reasonable accommodations or alternative formats, contact 311.
People who are deaf or hard of hearing can use a relay service to call 311 at 612-673-3000.
TTY users can call 612-673-2157 or 612-673-2626.

Para asistencia 612-673-2700, Yog xav tau kev pab, hu 612-637-2800, Hadii aad Caawimaad u baahantahay 612-673-3500. 


311 call center

TTY relay service

City of Minneapolis Facebook City of Minneapolis Twitter City of Minneapolis YouTube ChaNNEL Minneapolis 311 Minneapolis 14 Government TV City of Minneapolis LinkedIn

Minneapolis, City of Lakes logo