Mayor Jacob Frey, new City Council members take office


Mayor Jacob Frey and City Council members were officially sworn into office today.

New Council members who took office today include Steve Fletcher (Ward 3), Phillipe Cunningham (Ward 4), Jeremiah Ellison (Ward 5), Andrea Jenkins (Ward 8) and Jeremy Schroeder (Ward 11). They join returning members Kevin Reich (Ward 1), Cam Gordon (Ward 2), Abdi Warsame (Ward 6), Lisa Goodman (Ward 7), Alondra Cano (Ward 9), Lisa Bender (Ward 10), Andrew Johnson (Ward 12) and Linea Palmisano (Ward 13).

A public inaugural ceremony is planned for Monday, Jan. 8 at 9:30 a.m. in the City Hall Rotunda, 350 S. Fifth St. During the inauguration, Mayor Frey and City Council members will once again subscribe their oaths of office. Mayor Frey will also deliver his inaugural address. The inauguration will be broadcast live on Channel 14 and via the City’s website.

Following the inaugural ceremony on Jan. 8, the City Council will hold an organizational meeting in the Council Chamber, room 317 in City Hall, to elect leadership, establish the council’s standing policy committees and adopt a calendar of regular meetings, among other matters. The first regular meeting of the City Council is scheduled for 9:30 a.m. Friday, Jan. 12.


Published Jan 2, 2018



Contact us

Email updates

Find a service

About this site

For employees

For reasonable accommodations or alternative formats, contact 311.
People who are deaf or hard of hearing can use a relay service to call 311 at 612-673-3000.
TTY users can call 612-263-6850.

Para asistencia 612-673-2700, Yog xav tau kev pab, hu 612-637-2800, Hadii aad Caawimaad u baahantahay 612-673-3500. 

Communications  ©1997-2020 City of Minneapolis, MN


311 call center

311 TTY relay service

City of Minneapolis Facebook City of Minneapolis Twitter City of Minneapolis YouTube ChaNNEL Minneapolis 311 Watch Minneapolis City Council TV City of Minneapolis LinkedIn

Minneapolis, City of Lakes logo