Commission Meeting MINUTES of Monday, February 25, 2013

Minneapolis City Hall, Martin Luther King, Jr. Conference Room - 241

350 South 5th Street, Minneapolis, MN



6:00 PM, Call to Order and Roll Call


Commissioners in Attendance: Thomas Gallagher, Emily Froehle, Lonnie Nichols, Michelle Monteiro, John Oberreuter, Bernadette Casey, Peter Larsen, Wendy Adler Robinson, Jennifer Thompson, Marla Khan, Patricia Nelson, Danielle Shelton Walczak, Carina Aleckson, Michael Harralson, Arlene Santiago, Cecilia Rodriguez-Melendez


Commissioners Absent: Kenneth Fukuda, Terrance Noble, Adosh Unni, G. Christine Peters, Gerald Strauss


City Staff: Lee Zutz, Toni Newborn, Carol Bachun


Guest(s): University Law Student, Emily Jensen


Approval of February 25, 2013 MCCR Meeting Agenda moved by Froehle, approved by consensus.


Approval January 28, 2013 MCCR minutes; moved by Froehle, approved by consensus; Rodriguez-Melendez abstains.


Officer Elections; in unanimous votes the following commissioners are elected to the standing MCCR offices:

Chair – Emily Froehle

Vice Chair – Peter Larsen

Treasurer – Bernadette Casey

Secretary – Lonnie Nichols


Committees meet to appoint chairs and the full committee reconvenes to receive the following update:

Contract Compliance: Chair Cecilia Rodriguez-Melendez, meets 3rd Monday of month at 5:30 pm in City Hall prior to the Full Commission meeting.

Standards and Procedures: Chair Danielle Shelton Walczak, meets 2nd Monday of month at 5:30 pm in City Hall after the Executive Committee

Public Relations and Education: Co-Chairs, Bernadette Casey and Marla Khan, meets 3rd Monday of month at 5:30 pm in City Hall prior to the Full Commission meeting.

PRE update: MLK Awards Ceremony was spectacular, the committee is looking for ways to improve outreach and participation in 2013; the committee will appear on KFAI Radio on March 24, 2013, speaking to the topic of Women’s Voices in Civil Rights in the City.

The MCCR Executive Committee meets at 5:00 pm the second Monday of each month and is comprised of MCCR Officers and Committee Chairs


League of MN Human Rights Commissions: Pat Nelson in MPLS Director of MNLHRC and she is seeking nominations for Director at Large from MPLS and Fukuda’s name is forwarded.


Assistant City Attorney Bachun provides hand outs and presents information on City Ethics Training online and expectation of ethical conduct by commissioners.


Chairs report: The March 18, 2013, MCCR will be abbreviated, expected to adjourn at 6:30 pm, but followed by a strategic planning session until approximately 8:00 pm; Commissioners are encouraged to bring potluck food items to share on this evening.

Commissioners assigned to the Appeals Committee are: MARCH: Shelton Walczak, Harralson, Nelson and Khan as alternate; APRIL: Gallagher, Santiago, Casey and Robinson as alternate; MAY: Gallagher, Santiago, Nichols and Robinson as alternate.


Public Comment: Introduction of guest, University Law Student Emily Jensen.


Adjournment at 7:00 PM, Thompson moved, Shelton Walczak second, approved.




Last updated Apr 15, 2013



Contact us

Email updates

Find a service

About this site

For employees

For reasonable accommodations or alternative formats, contact 311.
People who are deaf or hard of hearing can use a relay service to call 311 at 612-673-3000.
TTY users can call 612-673-2157 or 612-673-2626.

Para asistencia 612-673-2700, Yog xav tau kev pab, hu 612-637-2800, Hadii aad Caawimaad u baahantahay 612-673-3500. 


311 call center

TTY relay service

City of Minneapolis Facebook City of Minneapolis Twitter City of Minneapolis YouTube ChaNNEL Minneapolis 311 Minneapolis 14 Government TV City of Minneapolis LinkedIn

Minneapolis, City of Lakes logo