City Council, Mayor Frey honor departing leaders during final City Council meeting of the year

December 10, 2021

Today, the City Council and Mayor Jacob Frey honored departing Council members and two City department leaders with honorary resolutions recognizing their service to the City of Minneapolis during the final full City Council meeting of 2021.

Elected officials honored included:

  • City Council President Lisa Bender (Ward 10), first elected to the Council in 2013. Her honorary resolution notes her commitment to race equity and climate justice in every aspect of public policy.
  • Council Member Kevin Reich (Ward 1), elected in 2009. Reich has served as chair of the Council’s Transportation & Public Works Committee and been a strong advocate for expanding multimodal transit options and the arts community.
  • Council Member Cam Gordon (Ward 2), elected in 2005. Gordon is the Council’s sole Green Party member and a champion of environmental and economic justice issues.
  • Council Member Steve Fletcher (Ward 3), elected in 2017. Fletcher has advocated for policies strengthening workers protections and funding for violence prevention and alternatives to police response while in office.
  • Council Member Phillipe Cunningham (Ward 4), elected in 2017. Cunningham has been a strong proponent of a public health approach to public safety.
  • Council Member Alondra Cano (Ward 9), elected in 2013. Cano, the first person of Latino heritage elected to the Council, has been a strong voice for economic and environmental justice issues.
  • Council Member Jeremy Schroeder (Ward 11), elected in 2017. Schroeder has been a leader on climate action policies and helped guide the implementation of the Minneapolis 2040 Comprehensive Plan.

Department leaders honored

Mayor Frey and Council members also presented honorary resolutions to Health Commissioner Gretchen Musicant and David Rubedor, director of the City’s Neighborhood and Community Relations Department (NCR).

Musicant is retiring at the end of the year after serving as health commissioner since 2005.

“Gretchen has focused throughout her career on increasing equity for the many communities in Minneapolis through strengthening public policy, championing community programming including addressing violence as a public health issue, and increasing investment in local public health,” her resolution reads.  

During his tenure, Rubedor led the implementation and expansion of the Neighborhood and Community Relations Department, a one-of-kind department at the city  government level in the country.

“Mr. Rubedor is well known among the many communities that make up our city of Minneapolis for his lifelong commitment and leadership to uplifting community voices, honoring how communities work, asking the City to learn from the strengths of communities, listening to and learning from his staff, supporting City staff and other City departments, and taking on tough conversations with a smile,” the resolution notes. 

Watch the Council meeting and the tributes to the departing leaders.