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Minnesota  
Sales and Use 
Tax
Instruction Booklet

Need help with your taxes?
We’re ready to answer your questions! 

Phone:	 651-296-6181 
	 or 1-800-657-3777 

E-mail: 	 salesuse.tax@state.mn.us

600 North Robert Street, St. Paul, MN 55146-6330

Hours: 7:30 a.m. – 5:00 p.m. Monday through Friday 

Information in this booklet is available in other formats upon  
request for persons with disabilities.

File your return and pay tax electronically and subscribe to receive 
email updates regarding sales and use taxes at
www.revenue.state.mn.us
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You must register to collect sales tax if you 
make taxable retail sales in Minnesota. This 
includes sellers outside Minnesota who: 

•	 have an office; distribution, sales, or 
sample room location; warehouse or 
other place of business in Minnesota, 
either directly or by a subsidiary; 

•	 have a representative, agent, salesperson, 
canvasser, or solicitor in Minnesota, on 
either a permanent or temporary basis, 
who operates under the authority of the 
retailer or its subsidiary for any purpose, 
such as repairing, selling, delivering, in-
stalling, soliciting orders for the retailer’s 
goods or services, or leasing tangible 
items in Minnesota; 

•	 deliver items into Minnesota in their own 
vehicles;  

•	 provide taxable services in Minnesota; or
•	 have entered into an agreement with a 

solicitor for the referral of Minnesota 
customers for a commission and your 
gross receipts over 12 months is at least 
$10,000.

See Revenue Notice #00-10, Sales and 
Use Tax – Nexus Standards, for criteria on 
determining when an out-of-state retailer is 
required to register, collect and remit Min-
nesota sales or use tax on sales made into 
Minnesota. 

If you make retail sales in any cities, coun-
ties or other local taxing areas that have a 
local sales tax, you must also register to 
collect those local taxes (see Fact Sheet 
164, Local Sales and Use Taxes, for a 
listing of local taxes; also see Fact Sheets 
164M, Minneapolis Special Local Taxes, 
and 164S, Special Local Taxes: Detroit 
Lakes, Giants Ridge, Mankato, Rochester, 
St. Cloud, St. Paul). 

If you sell only nontaxable items, you do 
not need to register for sales tax.

If you do not make taxable sales, but make 
purchases subject to use tax, you must reg-
ister to remit use tax. The department may 
automatically register you for use tax filing 
if you register for withholding tax. See the 
section “Minnesota state and local sales and 
use taxes” on page 3 for more information 
about use tax. 

It is against the law to make taxable retail 
sales or provide taxable services in Min-
nesota without being registered. 

Affiliate nexus. Affiliates of Minnesota 
businesses are required to collect and remit 
Minnesota sales tax on sales made into 

Who needs to register?
Minnesota. An entity is an affiliate of a 
Minnesota business if the related entity 
promotes the affiliate’s business or provides 
services to the out-of-state entity and the 
retailer and entity are related parties. A re-
tailer and entity are related parties if at least 
one of the following is true: 

•	 one of the parties owns directly or 
indirectly at least 50 percent of the other 
party’s outstanding stock; 

•	 one of the parties is a partnership, estate 
or trust that owns directly or indirectly at 
least 50 percent of the capital, stock, or 
value of the other party; or 

•	 an individual stockholder or the stock-
holder’s family owns directly or indi-
rectly at least 50 percent of the value of 
outstanding stock of both entities. 

For example, if two entities are related and 
the in-state entity advertises, promotes or 
facilitates the establishment or maintenance 
of a market in Minnesota for an out-of-state 
seller, the in-state entity creates nexus for 
the out-of-state seller. 

In addition, if the in-state entity provides 
services to the out-of-state seller (such as 
accepting returns from the seller’s custom-
ers, resolving complaints from the seller’s 
customers, etc.), the in-state entity also cre-
ates nexus for the out-of-state seller. 

How to register or report 
business changes 
You may register for a Minnesota tax ID 
number online at: www.revenue.state.mn.us 
or by calling 651-282-5225 or 1-800-657-
3605.

You must notify us if you: 

•	 change your legal organization (from 
individual to partnership or LLC, partner-
ship to corporation, etc.). 

•	 add or close a location. 
•	 begin making sales in a city, county or 

area with a local tax (see Fact Sheet 164, 
Local Sales and Use Taxes, for a listing 
of local taxes). If you file your return on 
the Internet, you can add a local tax when 
filing. If you file by phone, you must call 
our office to add a local tax. 

•	 are in a locality that imposes a new local 
sales and use tax. (We will generally add 
the new local tax.)

•	 begin selling a product or service that is 
reported separately such as liquor (on 
or off-sale), car rentals, waste hauling 
services, etc. If you file your return on 
the Internet, you can add these tax types 
when filing. If you file by phone, you 
must call our office to add them. 

•	 find your taxable sales have increased so 
that you are required to file more often 
(see “General filing information” on page 
12). 

•	 close your business. 

Notifying us of significant changes in the 
structure or location of your business will 
help you avoid tax bills and periods of 
noncompliance. If you have a Minnesota 
tax ID, you can make some changes online, 
or you can call our office.

Multiple locations
If you operate your business from more 
than one permanent physical location, you 
may hold a single ID number and file one 
consolidated tax return for all locations or 
choose to apply for separate Minnesota tax 
ID numbers and file separate tax returns for 
each location.

Examples of separate physical locations:

•	 permanent storefronts where retail sales 
are made.

•	 kiosks in a mall.

The following are not separate physical 
locations: 

•	 sales at craft shows (unless the location is 
permanent). 

•	 vending machines at multiple locations. 
•	 services performed at various locations, 

such as a janitorial service or a landscap-
er. 

•	 doing business from a vehicle that moves 
from place to place. 

Operators of selling events 
Before an operator of a county fair, craft 
show, art fair, flea market, trade show, or 
similar selling event can rent space to a 
person to sell at the event, the operator must 
have written documentation from the seller 
that they hold a valid sales tax registra-
tion, or a written statement from the seller 
that no taxable items are being sold. Form 
ST19, Operator Certificate of Compliance, 
is available for this purpose. You can find 
this form on our website at www.revenue.
state.mn.us.

Continued
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Who needs to register? (continued)

Anyone who pays to sell at such an event 
is considered to be in business and must 
collect sales tax on all retail sales of taxable 
items unless they qualify for the “occasion-
al sales” exemption described below.

Occasional sales exemptions applicable 
at flea markets and similar events.
The law allows a seller at a flea market or 
other similar event to qualify for the occa-
sional sales exemption if all of the follow-
ing criteria are met:

•	 The seller participates in only one event 
per calendar year that lasts no more than 
three days;

•	 The seller makes sales of $500 or less 
during the calendar year; and

•	 The seller provides a written statement 
to that effect, and includes the seller’s 
name, address and telephone number.

An organizer can accept a written state-
ment from sellers who make occasional 
sales indicating that they meet the above-
mentioned criteria. This exemption does not 
apply to sales made by a business. 

Penalty. Operators who do not have Form 
ST19 or a similar written statement from 
sellers can be fined $100 for each seller that 
is not in compliance for each day of the 
selling event. 

Fact Sheet 148, Selling Event Exhibitors 
and Operators; Revenue Notices 07-09 and 
98-04. 

Minnesota state and local sales and use taxes
Sales tax
Minnesota has a 6.875 percent general 
sales tax rate. (The rate increased from 6.5 
percent to 6.875 percent, effective July 1, 
2009.)

The sales tax applies to retail sales of tax-
able services and/or tangible personal prop-
erty made in Minnesota. Businesses collect 
the sales tax due on items and services sold 
at retail on behalf of the state. For details, 
see “Retail sales” on this page and “What’s 
taxable?” beginning on page 5. 

Sales tax may either be added separately to 
the selling price or included in the selling 
price. If the tax is included in the selling 
price, the item must be marked “tax in-
cluded” or a sign posted indicating that tax 
is included. M.S. 297A.77, subd 1

Retail sales
Most retail sales are taxable in Minnesota. 
A “retail sale” means any sale, lease or 
rental of tangible personal property for 
any purpose other than resale, sublease or 
subrent. A retail sale also includes services 
for any purposes other than for resale.

Sales, leases and rentals are taxable regard-
less of quantity or whether the item is new 
or used, unless an exemption applies. Some 
services are also taxable.

Use tax
If you buy a taxable item for your own 
use without paying sales tax, you prob-
ably owe use tax. The tax rate is the same 

for both sales and use tax, and the same 
exemptions apply. Use tax is due on taxable 
items and services used in Minnesota if no 
sales tax was paid at the time of purchase. 
The general use tax rate is the same as the 
state’s general sales tax rate, 6.875 percent. 
All general local sales taxes also have a 
corresponding use tax, which is at the same 
rate as the local sales tax.

While sales tax is collected by the seller 
and paid to the state by the seller, use tax 
is self-assessed and paid by the purchaser 
(end user). The purchaser pays the tax 
directly to the state.

Here are some cases when use tax is due:

•	 You buy taxable items by mail order, 
from a shopping channel, over the In-
ternet, etc., and the seller doesn’t collect 
Minnesota tax from you.

•	 You buy something exempt intending 
to resell it in your business, but instead 
take it out of inventory for business or 
personal use.

•	 A seller in another state or country does 
not collect any sales tax from you on a 
sale of an item that is taxed by Minne-
sota’s law.

•	 A Minnesota seller fails to collect sales 
tax from you on a taxable item. 

•	 An out-of-state seller properly collects 
another state’s sales tax at a rate lower 
than Minnesota’s. In this case, you owe 
the difference between the two rates. 

Keep track of your purchases subject to use 
tax and report them when you report your 
sales tax. Also, keep a record of the pur-
chases on which you paid use tax, noting 
the date reported and paid. 

If you are located in an area that has local 
taxes, be sure to also report the local use 
tax due. 

Individuals as well as businesses owe use 
tax on taxable purchases when they have 
not paid sales tax. An individual, however, 
can purchase up to $770 in taxable items 
for personal use without owing use tax. If 
the individual buys more than $770 in a 
calendar year, that person owes use tax on 
all taxable items purchased that year. 

Individuals who owe use tax, but are not 
required to hold a sales tax permit, can file 
a use tax return annually, regardless of the 
total amount of purchases. These returns are 
due by April 15 of the following year. To 
file the return and pay tax electronically, go 
to our website at www.revenue.state.mn.us 
and login. Enter your Social Security num-
ber, select “Individual use tax” and follow 
the steps until you receive a confirmation 
number. 

You may also download Form UT1, Indi-
vidual Use Tax Return, from our website, or 
contact our office for a copy.

For more information, see Fact Sheets 146, 
Use Tax for Businesses; and 156, Use Tax 
for Individuals. 

Continued

Receive electronic updates
Subscribe to receive sales and use tax 
notices electronically, including updates 
to sales and use tax law changes, rules, 
fact sheets, and other related sales and 
use tax information. 

To subscribe to receive free email 
updates, go to our website at 
www.revenue.state.mn.us and complete 
the requested information. You will re-
ceive an email to which you must reply 
before you can receive updates.
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Local taxes 
We currently administer and collect several 
local sales and use taxes. The general local 
taxes apply to the same items that are taxed 
by the Minnesota sales and use tax law. You 
must be registered for any locality with a 
local tax if you do business there. 

To figure the tax, combine the state tax rate 
and all applicable local rates. Apply the total 
combined rate to the taxable sales price and 
round to the nearest full cent. (Rate charts 
are available on our website.)

Local taxes are reported at the same time 
you report your Minnesota sales and use tax, 
but the taxable sales for each locality are re-
ported separately. You must be registered for 
each local tax you report. Call our office to 
register for local taxes if you file by phone. 
If you file by Internet, please add the appli-
cable local taxes when you file your return.

A map of the various rates that apply in the 
seven-county metropolitan area is shown at 
right. Several localities outside the metro-
politan area also impose local taxes.

For more information about local taxes 
and an up-to-date list of localities that have 
local tax, see Fact Sheets 164, Local Sales 
and Use Taxes; 164M, Minneapolis Special 
Local Taxes, and 164S, Special Local Taxes: 
Detroit Lakes, Giants Ridge Recreational 
Area, Mankato, Marshall, Proctor, Roches-
ter, St. Cloud, St. Paul.

Rate charts
Rate charts are available at the following 
percentages. Download them from our web-
site or call our office to request copies.

State rate - 6.875 percent 

Various combinations of state and local tax:

The sales tax rate for sales (not leases) of 
motor vehicles remains at 6.5 percent. A 6.5 
percent rate chart is also available on our 
website.

Figuring the tax
The following guidelines will help you 
determine the sales price on which the tax is 
charged.

Minnesota state and local taxes (continued)

	 6.875%
	 7.025%
	 7.125%
	 7.275%
	 7.375%
	 7.525%
	 7.625%
	 7.775%
	 7.875%
	 8.375%

	 8.875%
	 9.125%
	 9.375%
	 9.525%
	 9.625%
	 9.775%
	 9.875%
	 10.025%
	 10.125%
	 10.275%

	 10.525%
	 10.775%
	 13.025%
	 13.275%
	 13.400%
	 13.525%
	 13.775%
	 16.025%
	 16.275%

*	 Minneapolis includes 6.875% state sales tax, 
0.5% Minneapolis local sales tax, 0.15% Hennepin  
County sales tax, and the 0.25% transit improvement sales tax.

	 St. Paul includes 6.875% state sales tax, 0.5% St. Paul local sales tax, and the 0.25% 
transit improvement sales tax.

Twin Cities Metro Area Sales and Use Tax Rates 

•	 Deduct federal excise tax imposed 
directly on the customer if it is separately 
stated on the customer’s bill. 

•	 For trade-ins, charge sales tax on the dif-
ference between the price of the item you 
are selling and the trade-in allowance. 
The item traded must be a taxable item 
and something you normally sell in your 
business. Otherwise, tax is due on the full 
price of each item.

•	 Do not charge sales tax on interest, 
financing and carrying charges on credit 
sales if they are separately stated on the 
customer’s bill. 

•	 Charge sales tax on shipping, handling 
and installation charges for taxable items. 

•	 Charge sales tax on the total price of any 
taxable services. Do not deduct the cost 
of materials and supplies you used to 
provide the service. 

•	 Deduct cash discounts, trade discounts or 
quantity discounts you give at the time of 
sale. 

•	 When honoring one of your own cou-
pons, subtract the coupon amount first, 
then charge sales tax on the remaining 
amount. Handle “two-for-one” and simi-
lar coupons the same way. 

•	 When honoring a manufacturer’s coupon, 
charge sales tax first, then subtract the 
coupon amount. 

•	 Gift certificates are treated the same as 
cash. Charge sales tax, then subtract the 
gift certificate amount. 

List the sales tax separately from the sales 
price for your customer whenever practical. 
You can include the tax in the selling price; 
however, you then must publicly post a 
notice that states that the price includes all 
applicable sales tax or state on the invoice 
that tax is included.

Dakota
7.125%

Anoka
7.125%

Scott
7.375%

Washington
7.125%

Carver
6.875%

Hennepin
7.275%

Ramsey
7.125%

Mpls.
7.775%

St. Paul
7.625%



5

Sales and purchases of 
tangible personal property 
and certain services are 
subject to Minnesota sales 
and use tax.
(For applicable laws, see Minnesota 
Statutes, Chapters 297A and 297B, at 
www.leg.state.mn.us.)

Examples of taxable sales in 
Minnesota
Admission and amusement fees. Fees to 
access health clubs, amusement devices, 
tanning facilities, spas, athletic facilities, 
golf clubs, ski hills, recreational areas 
(campgrounds, parks, trails, picnic 
grounds), movies, etc., are taxable. One-
time initiation fees and membership dues 
to athletic clubs are also taxed. Fact Sheets 
124, Exercise Facilities and Health Clubs; 
and 123, Athletic Facilities, Recreational 
Areas, Resorts and Campgrounds.

Aircraft. Fact Sheet 101, Aircraft. 

Building materials, supplies and equip-
ment sold to owners, contractors, subcon-
tractors and builders to build, alter, repair 
or improve real property. Fact Sheet 128, 
Contractors. 

Candy and soft drinks. Fact Sheets 102B, 
Candy; and 102C, Soft Drinks and Other 
Beverages. 

Computer software, canned or prewritten. 
Fact Sheet 134, Computer Software. Start-
ing July 1, 2013, purchases of digital goods, 
electronically delivered software, and ser-
vices can be sourced to multiple locations. 
To claim multiple points of use, both of the 
following must be met: 
•	 The purchaser must know at the time 

of purchase that the good or service 
will be used in more than one taxing 
jurisdiction 

•	 The purchaser must give the seller a 
completed Form ST3, Certificate of 
Exemption, at the time of purchase

Delivery charges (including shipping and 
handling) for taxable items or services. Fact 
Sheet 155, Delivery Charges. 

Dietary supplements are taxable food 
products intended to supplement the diet. 
Fact Sheet 102E, Dietary Supplements. 

Digital Products, other than prewritten 
computer software, that are transferred 
electronically to the purchaser. Fact Sheet 
177, Digital Products. Starting July 1, 
2013, purchases of digital goods, electroni-
cally delivered software, and services can 
be sourced to multiple locations. To claim 
multiple points of use, both of the following 
must be met: 
•	 The purchaser must know at the time 

of purchase that the good or service 
will be used in more than one taxing 
jurisdiction 

•	 The purchaser must give the seller a 
completed Form ST3, Certificate of 
Exemption, at the time of purchase

Fabrication labor. Charges to produce, 
fabricate, print or process items, even if the 
customer directly or indirectly furnishes 
materials used. Fact Sheets 152, Labor - 
Installation, Fabrication, Construction, and 
Repair; 145, Industrial Production; 109, 
Printing Industry; 169, Photography and 
Video Production; and 131, Automotive 
Repairs and Service. 

Fur clothing, including any shipping, trans-
portation or finance charges. Fact Sheet 
105, Clothing. 

Grooming and hygiene products, including 
grooming and hygiene products for babies, 
are taxable. Fact Sheet 117F, Grooming and 
Hygiene Products. 

Installation labor for taxable items or ser-
vices. Fact Sheets 152, Labor-Installation, 
Fabrication, Construction, and Repair; and 
131A, Motor Vehicle - Auto Body Repair 
and Service. 

Local governments. Most sales to local 
governments, including counties, cities and 
townships, are exempt. Some schools, hos-
pitals, nursing homes, libraries and towns, 
however, can make exempt purchases 
(see local governments on page 10). Fact 
Sheets 111, Schools – Sales and Purchases; 
135, Fire Fighting, Police and Emergency 
Equipment; 139, Libraries; and 142, Sales 
to Governments. 

Lodging and related services (including 
when an online lodging seller or other type 
of accommodation intermediary makes a 
sale of lodging). Fact Sheet 141, Hotels and 
Lodging Facilities. 

Machinery, equipment, tools, accessories, 
appliances, furniture and fixtures, either 
new or used. To determine if you qualify 
for a capital equipment refund, see Capital 
equipment in the “Requesting a refund” 
section on page 17. Fact Sheet 103, Capital 
Equipment.

Machinery, office equipment and other 
items sold by businesses that used the 
items in their trade or business. Fact Sheet 
132, Isolated and Occasional Sales. 

Meals and drinks prepared by the seller, 
including take-out orders and catering. Fact 
Sheets 102D, Prepared Food; 118, Hospital 
and Nursing Home Meals; and 137, Restau-
rants and Bars. 

Motor vehicles. Leases and rentals of mo-
tor vehicles and sales of vehicles that don’t 
require registration, such as all-terrain 
vehicles, mini-bikes, racing bikes, etc., 
are taxable. (Also see Car rentals in this 
section and motor vehicles in the “What’s 
not taxable?” section on page 9.) Fact Sheet 
171, Motor Vehicle Leases.

Pay television services, including basic, 
premium, pay-per-view, digital, direct 
satellite, music services and other similar 
services. Fact Sheet 119, Telecommunica-
tions, Pay Television and Related Services.

Prepaid telephone calling cards and 
recharging fees. Fact Sheet 119, Telecom-
munications, Pay Television and Related 
Services. 

Services. The following services are tax-
able. For more information, request the 
following fact sheets:
112 	 Building Cleaning and Maintenance 

(for commercial and residential 
buildings) 

113 	 Motor Vehicle Towing, Washing, 
Rustproofing 

114 	 Detective and Security Services 
119 	 Telecommunications, Pay Television 

and Related Services
120 	 Laundry and Cleaning Services 
121A 	Lawn and Garden Maintenance, Tree 

and Shrub Services 
122 	 Pets and Pet Grooming, Boarding, 

and Care Services 
162 	 Massages (not medically authorized) 
166	 Parking Services 

What’s taxable? 

Continued
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What’s taxable? (continued) 

Telecommunications and pay televi-
sion equipment used directly by a service 
provider primarily to provide their services. 
These purchases were taxable  from July 1, 
2013– March 31, 2014. But starting April 1, 
2014 machinery and equipment are exempt 
when purchased by a service provider. Fact 
Sheet 119, Telecommunications, Pay Televi-
sion and Related Services.

Tobacco products (except cigarettes), 
including cigars, chewing tobacco, snus, 
pipe tobacco, electronic cigarettes, e-cigs, 
vaporizers, accessories, liquid nicotine, 
e-liquids, etc.

Utilities. Electricity, gas, fuel oils, coal, 
wood, water and telephone services are 
taxable. For more information, request the 
following fact sheets:

116	 Petroleum Products 
119 	Telecommunications, Pay Television 

and Related Services
129	Utilities Used in Production 
145	 Industrial Production 
157	 Residential Utilities 

Also available: Rule 8130.1100, Utilities 
and Residential Heating Fuels. 

Vending-machine sales of food, candy, 
gum, pop and other beverages, taxable 
items, and receipts from game machines 
and jukeboxes. Fact Sheet 158, Vend-
ing Machines and Other Coin-Operated 
Devices. 

Special tax rates
Tax rates for some items are different from 
the general 6.875 percent rate.

Car rentals (additional 9.2% tax and 5% 
fee). In addition to the 6.875 percent state 
sales tax and any local sales tax, this tax 
and fee apply to most rentals of passenger 
cars, vans or pickup trucks for fewer than 
29 days. 

The 5 percent fee is intended to reimburse 
lessors for the cost of registering vehicles 
that are used for rental purposes and is only 
reported once each year. (For filing instruc-
tions, see Car rentals — December only on 
page 14.) Fact Sheet 136, Motor Vehicle 
9.2% Rental Tax and 5% Fee.

Vehicle sales transit tax. Local sales tax 
does not apply to sales of motor vehicles. 
However, a $20 transit improvement 
vehicle excise tax applies to sales of motor 
vehicles when the sale occurs in Anoka, 
Dakota, Hennepin, Ramsey, or Washington 
County. This excise tax must be collected 
and reported by any person in the business 
of selling new or used motor vehicles at 
retail. Fact Sheet 164, Local Sales and Use 
Taxes.

Liquor sales -- two taxes apply. The 6.875 
percent general sales tax rate and 2.5 per-
cent liquor gross receipts tax apply to beer, 
wine and other alcoholic beverages sold at 
an on-sale or off-sale municipal liquor store 
or other establishment licensed to sell any 
type of intoxicating liquor. (If the establish-
ment has only a 3.2 percent malt liquor 
license, the 6.875 percent tax rate applies.) 
Fact Sheet 137, Restaurants and Bars.

Mobile homes and park trailers (4.469%). 
If you’re selling a new or used mobile home 
for residential use and this is the first time 
it is being sold in Minnesota, or if you’re 
selling a park trailer, the sale is subject to a 
4.469 percent tax rate. For mobile homes, 
the 4.469 percent tax applies to the dealer’s 
cost. Fact Sheet 150, Manufactured Homes, 
Park Trailers and Modular Homes.

Waste management services
Waste management services are not subject 
to sales tax but are subject to the solid-
waste management (SWM) tax. These 
taxes are reported on your sales and use 
tax return. SWM Fact Sheet 1, Solid-Waste 
Management Tax. 

You must register for waste management 
taxes so you will be able to report them 
on your sales tax return. A penalty of 10 
percent for the first violation and 20 percent 
for subsequent violations applies if the 
SWM tax is not reported on the appropriate 
lines of the sales tax return. 

Waste management services for both 
mixed municipal solid waste and nonmixed 
municipal solid waste (construction and 
demolition waste, infectious and pathologi-
cal waste, industrial waste) are subject to 
the SWM tax. Mixed municipal solid-waste 
management services include waste collec-
tion, transportation, processing, disposal, 
fuel surcharges, and compactor and contain-
er rental charges when made by the waste 
service provider. 

Residential solid-waste management ser-
vices (9.75%). Applies to mixed municipal 
solid-waste management services to resi-
dential generators, including amounts from 
selling bags or stickers to vendors for resale 
to residential generators. 

Commercial solid-waste management 
services and self-haulers (17%). Applies 
to mixed municipal solid-waste manage-
ment services to commercial generators and 
self-haulers, including amounts from selling 
bags or stickers to vendors for resale to 
commercial generators. 

Construction and demolition waste and 
other non-mixed solid-waste services 
($.60 per noncompacted cubic yard). Con-
struction and demolition debris is taxed at 
$0.60 per cubic yard. If the service provider 
calculates its waste management service 
fee based on weight, an SWM tax charge 
of $2 per ton can be used. The tax must be 
calculated using the same method as that 
used for the service charge.
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What’s not taxable? 
Items exempt by law 
When an item is exempt by law, the seller 
does not have to prove why tax wasn’t 
charged other than showing the item was 
food, clothing, drugs, etc. 

Items exempt with an 
exemption certificate 
When a purchaser gives a seller a fully com-
pleted exemption certificate at the time of 
sale, the seller does not have to collect sales 
tax. Form ST3, Certificate of Exemption, is 
used to claim exemption when buying tax-
able items. The purchaser can give a “single-
purchase” certificate for just one transaction 
or a “blanket certificate” that applies to 
future purchases of qualifying exempt items. 

Exemption certificates do not expire unless 
the information on the certificate changes; 
however, we recommend updating exemp-
tion certificates every three to four years. 

If you want to develop your own certifi-
cate instead of using Form ST3, you must 
include the following information: 

•	 purchaser’s name and address 
•	 purchaser’s tax ID number and state of 
issue, or if none, purchaser’s FEIN, or if 
none, purchaser’s driver’s license number 
or state issued ID number

•	 purchaser’s type of business
•	 reason exemption is claimed
•	 purchaser’s signature and date

It is not acceptable for a customer to furnish 
only a tax ID number; the customer must 
furnish all of the above information. 

If an exemption certificate is misused in an 
effort to evade paying sales tax, a penalty of 
$100 for each transaction may apply.

Applying for certain 
exemptions 
You must apply to the Department of Rev-
enue to obtain a special exemption for the 
following: 

•	 Direct pay. Allows the buyer to pay sales 
tax on certain items directly to the state 
instead of to the seller. Applicants must be 
registered to collect sales tax in order to 
qualify. Contact our office for information 
on the requirements and how to apply. 

•	 Motor carrier direct pay. Allows motor 
carriers to pay tax directly to the state 
when they lease mobile transportation 
equipment or buy certain parts and acces-
sories. Applicants must be registered for 
sales tax in order to apply. To apply, use 

Form MCDP-AP, Motor Carrier Direct 
Pay Application. Fact Sheet 107, Inter-
state Motor Carriers.

•	 Nonprofit exemption. Valid only for 
groups organized exclusively for chari-
table purposes, senior citizen groups, and 
religious and educational organizations. 
This exemption applies only to purchases 
made by nonprofit organizations; it does 
not allow them to sell items without 
collecting sales tax. To apply, use Form 
ST16, Application for Nonprofit Exempt 
Status-Sales Tax. 

•	 Resource recovery facility exemption. 
Allows resource recovery facilities and 
their contractors to buy waste processing 
equipment exempt. Contact our office for 
information on the requirements and how 
to apply. 

Nontaxable items, uses and 
charges 
Most nontaxable items are listed here. An 
exemption certificate or other documenta-
tion may be required. If you have a question 
about when to charge tax, contact us. 

Admission tickets to regular-season games, 
events and activities for public and private 
schools, grades 1–12 and to games, events 
and activities sponsored by the Minnesota 
State High School League; admissions to 
artistic events sponsored by all public and 
private nonprofit colleges and universities 
in Minnesota if the event is held on the 
premises of the college or university; the 
Minnesota Zoo; artistic performances spon-
sored by qualified tax exempt organizations; 
and charitable golf tournaments when the 
beneficiary of the proceeds is a tax-exempt 
organization. Fact Sheet 111, Schools–Sales 
and Purchases. 

Advertising materials shipped or transferred 
outside the state by the seller or the custom-
er and used solely outside Minnesota. Fact 
Sheet 133, Advertising– Creative Promo-
tional Services; and Rule 8130.9250. 

Agricultural production materials includes 
horticulture, floriculture, aquaculture, silvi-
culture, farming and maple-syrup harvesting. 
Fact Sheets 100, Agricultural Production; 
and 130, Aquaculture Production Equipment. 

Air cooling equipment used to convert or 
replace ground water cooling systems, if the 
purchase is required under M.S. 103G.271, 
subd. 5. M.S. 297A.68, subd. 7.

Airflight equipment and parts for certain 
aircraft. Airplanes and repair parts sold to 
airlines. Fact Sheet 101 - Aircraft. Rule 
8130.6000. 

Ambulances. The lease of a motor vehicle 
by an ambulance service licensed by the 
Emergency Medical Service (EMS) Regula-
tory Board that is equipped and specifically 
intended for emergency response or for 
providing ambulance services. Fact Sheet 
135, Fire Fighting, Police and Emergency 
Equipment. 

Aquaculture equipment including repair or 
replacement parts used to maintain or repair 
qualifying equipment. Fact Sheet 130, Aqua-
culture Production Equipment. 

Baby products, such as breast pumps, baby 
bottles and nipples, pacifiers, teething rings, 
and infant syringes. Fact Sheet 117E, Health 
Product Exemptions. 

Bullet resistant body armor purchased by 
licensed peace officers, and state and local 
law enforcement agencies. Fact Sheet 135, 
Fire Fighting, Police and Emergency Equip-
ment. 

Camp fees are amounts paid to attend a 
camp, including charges for meals and lodg-
ing, and for instruction or training. Camp 
fees are exempt if they are for: (1) services 
primarily for children, adults accompanying 
children, or persons with disabilities; or (2) 
educational or religious activities; and the 
camp or facility is owned and operated by a 
501(c)(3) organization. Fact Sheet 123, Ath-
letic Facilities, Recreational Areas, Resorts, 
and Campgrounds.

Caskets, urns for cremains and burial 
vaults. Fact Sheet 165, Funeral Homes, 
Mortuaries, Crematories and Cemeteries; 
and Rule 8130.6300. 

Cigarettes. Tax on cigarettes is collected at 
the distributor level rather than at the retail 
level. 

Clothing and wearing apparel customarily 
worn on the human body for general use. 
Fact Sheet 105, Clothing. 

Coin-operated entertainment and amuse-
ment devices may be purchased exempt by 
retailers who (1) sell admission to places of 
amusement; or (2) make available amuse-
ment devices. Fact Sheet 158, Vending Ma-
chines and Other Coin-Operated Devices.

Labor to construct, repair or improve real 
property. Fact Sheet 128, Contractors. 

Continued
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Installment payments on previously re-
ported credit sales. 

Instructional materials required to be used 
directly in the completion of a course of 
study by students at colleges, universi-
ties, or private career schools, including 
for-profit schools, if sold to a student who 
is regularly enrolled at one of these institu-
tions. Fact Sheet 111, Schools – Sales and 
Purchases. 

Interest or finance charges incurred after 
the sale, if listed separately on the invoice. 
M.S. 297A.61, subd. 7.

Logging equipment and repair or replace-
ment parts (except tires) used to maintain 
or repair the equipment. Fact Sheet 108, 
Logging Equipment.

Meals for children attending a child care 
or early childhood education program. 
Meals or drinks purchased for and served 
exclusively to children who are younger 
than 14 years of age or disabled children 
who are younger than 16 years of age and 
who are attending a child care or early 
childhood education program, are exempt if 
they are: 

•	 purchased by a qualified nonprofit child 
care facility that primarily serves families 
with income of 250 percent or less of 
federal poverty guidelines; and 

•	 prepared at the site of the child care facil-
ity. M.S. 297A.67, subd. 6.

Meals and drinks served to patients in hos-
pitals, sanitariums, nursing homes, senior 
citizens’ homes, and correctional, detention, 
and detoxification facilities as part of their 
care. Meals and lunches served at pre-
kindergarten through 12th grade schools 
are exempt. Meals and lunches served at 
colleges, universities and private career 
schools are taxable, unless they are part of 
a student’s board contract. Fact Sheets 111, 
Schools – Sales and Purchases; 118, Hos-
pital and Nursing Home Meals; and 137, 
Restaurants and Bars. 

Medical equipment including durable 
medical equipment for home use, mobil-
ity enhancing equipment and prosthetic 
devices. Fact Sheets 117B, Durable Medi-
cal Equipment; 117C, Mobility Enhancing 
Equipment; and 117D, Prosthetic Devices.

Mill liners, grinding rods and grinding 
balls that are substantially consumed in the 
production of taconite or other ores, metals 
or minerals. Fact Sheet 147, Taconite and 
Iron Mining; and Rule 8130.9600. 

What’s not taxable? (continued) 

Construction exemption for special 
projects under M.S. 297A.71. Certain 
purchases for the construction of a specific 
project or facility are exempt under M.S. 
297A.71, such as waste recovery facilities. 
This exemption does not apply to projects 
for which you must pay sales or use tax on 
qualifying purchases and then apply for a 
refund. 

Conversion costs to make vehicles acces-
sible to a disabled person. The exemption 
covers parts, accessories and labor to make 
a vehicle accessible to a disabled person. 
Fact Sheet 125, Motor Vehicles Sales and 
Purchases. 

Court-reporter transcripts or copies of 
transcripts of verbatim testimony of legal 
proceedings to parties, or representatives of 
parties, involved in the proceedings. M.S. 
297A.68, subd. 22.

Cross-country ski passes for the use of 
public trails. Fact Sheet 123, Athletic 
Facilities, Recreational Areas, Resorts and 
Campgrounds.

Custom computer software. Fact Sheet 
134, Computer Software. 

Deliveries arranged by the seller to custom-
ers outside Minnesota. Fact Sheet 110, 
Items for Use Outside Minnesota. 

Detachable tools. Separate detachable units 
that are used in producing a direct effect 
upon the product and have an ordinary 
useful life of less than 12 months. Fact 
Sheet 145, Industrial Production; and Rule 
8130.5500, subp. 9. 

Direct mail delivery charges. The sales tax 
law has a specific exemption for charges 
to deliver or distribute direct mail, if the 
charges are separately stated on the invoice 
to the purchaser. Exempt delivery charges 
for direct mail include charges for transpor-
tation, shipping, postage, handling, crating, 
and packing. Fact Sheets 173, Direct Mail 
and Fulfillment Services; and 155, Delivery 
Charges.

Direct pay. Certain items sold to persons 
who give you a fully completed exemp-
tion certificate indicating their Minnesota 
direct pay authorization. Note: The direct 
pay authorization does not apply to sales 
of services, meals and lodging, admissions, 
and motor vehicles. Rule 8130.3400. 

Discounts offered by the seller at the time 
of sale. Fact Sheet 167, Coupons, Discounts 
and Other Forms of Payment.

Drugs. Most drugs, prescription or over-the-
counter for use by humans. Fact Sheet 117A, 
Drugs. 

Electricity used to make snow for outdoor 
use for ski hills, ski slopes or ski trails. Fact 
Sheet 129, Utilities Used in Production.

Electricity and natural gas used as the pri-
mary source of residential heat for the billing 
months of November - April. Fact Sheet 157, 
Residential Utilities. 

Farm machinery, including repair or replace-
ment parts (except tires) used to maintain or 
repair qualifying equipment. Fact Sheet 106, 
Farm Machinery. 

Feminine hygiene products. Limited to tam-
pons, sanitary napkins and panty liners. Fact 
Sheet 117E, Health Product Exemptions. 

Automatic fire-safety sprinkler systems and 
all component parts (including waterline 
expansions and additions) are exempt when 
installed in an existing residential dwelling, 
hotel, motel, or lodging house with four or 
more dwelling units. M.S. 297A.68, subd. 23.

Food. Groceries for human consumption. 
Candy, soft drinks, dietary supplements and 
prepared food are taxable. Fact Sheets 102A 
- 102E (on food products); and 115, Food 
Stamps. 

Fuel oil, coal, wood, steam, hot water, pro-
pane and LP gas used for residential heat on a 
year-round basis. Fact Sheet 157, Residential 
Utilities. 

Fundraising sales. Sales made by or for non-
profit organizations may qualify for exemp-
tion if certain criteria are met. Fact Sheet 180, 
Nonprofit - Organizations and Fundraising.

Gasoline and other fuels on which Minnesota 
gasoline excise tax has been paid and not 
refunded. Other exemptions also apply (see 
Petroleum products on page 9). Fact Sheet 
116, Petroleum Products. 

Certain health products. Fact Sheets 117A, 
Drugs; 117B, Durable Medical Equipment; 
117C, Mobility Enhancing Equipment; 117D, 
Prosthetic Devices; and 117E, Health Prod-
uct Exemptions.

Horses and supplies for the care of horses, 
including feed and medications. Fact Sheet 
144, Veterinary Practice. 

Industrial production materials. Industrial 
production includes manufacturing, mining, 
printing, photography, lumbering and com-
mercial fishing. Fact Sheet 145, Industrial 
Production. 

Continued
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Used mobile homes used for residential pur-
poses. Fact Sheet 150, Manufactured Homes, 
Park Trailers and Modular Homes. 

Mobile transportation equipment, acces-
sories and parts sold to an interstate motor 
carrier who gives you a fully completed ex-
emption certificate indicating they have been 
approved for motor carrier direct pay. Fact 
Sheet 107, Interstate Motor Carriers. 

Sales of motor vehicles that must be regis-
tered and have a license plate (such as cars, 
trucks, trailers, motorcycles, mopeds and 
motor homes) are subject to sales tax at the 
time of registration with the Department of 
Public Safety. For answers to questions about 
the sales tax on motor vehicles, call the De-
partment of Public Safety at 651-296-6911. 
Fact Sheet 125, Motor Vehicles Sales and 
Purchases. 

Newspapers and publications regularly 
issued every three months or less. Over-
the-counter sales of magazines and periodi-
cals are taxable. Fact Sheet 109, Printing 
Industry.

Occasional sales of some business equip-
ment. Fact Sheet 132, Isolated and Occa-
sional Sales. 

Packing materials used to pack and ship 
household goods to destinations outside Min-
nesota that will not be returned to Minnesota 
except in the course of interstate commerce. 
M.S. 297A.68, subd. 16.

Patent, trademark, and copyright drawings 
and documents. Some drawings, diagrams, 
or similar or related documents, or copies 
of these documents produced and sold by 
a patent drafter are exempt. M.S. 297A.68, 
subd. 33.

Personal computers and related software 
if specifically required for use in a public or 
private school, college, university, or busi-
ness or trade school for regularly enrolled 
students. To qualify, the computers or 
software must be sold by the institution. Fact 
Sheet 111, Schools – Sales and Purchases.

Petroleum products. Petroleum products are 
exempt under the following conditions: 

•	 Gasoline, motor fuel, natural gas and pro-
pane on which Minnesota gasoline excise 
tax has been paid and not refunded. 

•	 Fuels used or consumed in agricultural or 
industrial production. 

•	 Fuels for use in ambulances, municipal fire 
apparatus and marked police vehicles. 

•	 Petroleum products used to improve 
agricultural land by constructing, main-
taining and repairing drainage ditches, tile 

drainage systems, grass waterways, water 
impoundment and other erosion-control 
structures. 

•	 Petroleum products used in a passenger 
snowmobile for off-highway business use 
to operate a resort. 

•	 Used motor oil. 

Fact Sheet 116, Petroleum Products. 

Pollution control equipment. Steel re-
processing firms whose primary business 
is the recovery of steel from automobiles, 
appliances and other steel products, and 
the re-refining of this recovered metal into 
new steel products, may purchase pollution 
control equipment exempt. The equipment 
must be used for the purpose of eliminat-
ing, preventing or reducing air, land or 
water pollution during or as a result of the 
manufacturing process in order to meet state 
or federal emission standards. M.S. 297A.68, 
subd. 8.

Poultry feed if the poultry is raised for hu-
man consumption. M.S. 297A.69, subd. 7. 

Prizes for games of skill or chance conduct-
ed at events such as carnivals, festivals and 
fairs lasting fewer than six days are exempt. 
Prizes for use at amusement parks, arcades, 
the State Fair and other events that last six 
days or more, and for lawful gambling or 
the state lottery are taxable. Fact Sheet 148, 
Selling Event Exhibitors and Operators.

Public safety radio communication system. 
Purchases of goods and services used to 
construct, operate, maintain and enhance the 
backbone system of the region-wide public 
safety communication system. M.S. 297A.70, 
subd. 8.

Real property. Sales of real property, rent-
als or leases of real property, and rentals of 
mobile homes used for residential purposes 
for more than 30 days. 

Repair labor if listed separately on the 
invoice.

Resale. Goods and services purchased solely 
to resell, lease or rent in the regular course 
of business. 

Sacramental wine used in religious ceremo-
nies if sold by a nonprofit religious organiza-
tion or by someone with a sacramental wine 
license. M.S. 297A.70, subd. 9.

Service materials. Materials, utilities, and 
short-lived detachable tools used or con-
sumed in providing the following taxable 
services are exempt: 

•	 Laundry and dry cleaning (Fact Sheet 120) 
•	 Car washing and towing (Fact Sheet 113) 
•	 Building cleaning and maintenance (Fact 

Sheet 112) 
•	 Detective and security services (Fact 

Sheet 114) 
•	 Pet grooming and animal boarding (Fact 

Sheet 122) 
•	 Lawn care (Fact Sheets 121A - 121C) 
•	 Massages (Fact Sheet 162)

Ship repair and replacement parts and 
lubricants used by ships or vessels engaged 
principally in interstate or foreign com-
merce. M.S. 297A.68, subd. 17.

Ski areas. Tangible personal property used 
or consumed primarily and directly for 
tramways at ski areas or in snowmaking and 
snow grooming operations at ski hills, ski 
slopes or ski trails are exempt. For details, 
see 2000 Sales and Use Tax Law Changes. 

Solar energy systems. Solar energy systems 
are exempt. “Solar energy system” means a 
set of devices whose primary purpose is to 
collect solar energy and convert and store 
it for useful purposes including heating and 
cooling buildings or other energy using 
processes, or to produce generated power 
by means of any combination of collecting, 
transferring, or converting solar-generated 
energy. M.S. 297A.67, subd. 29.

Special tooling, i.e., tools, dies, jigs, pat-
terns, gauges and other tooling that has value 
and use only for the buyer and only for the 
use for which it was made. An item has 
value only to the buyer if it is not standard 
enough to be stocked or ordered from a 
catalog or other sales literature but must be 
produced according to the buyer’s special 
requirements, and is not commonly used by 
someone else whose conditions for use are 
reasonably similar to the buyer’s. Fact Sheet 
145, Industrial Production. 

Telecommunications and pay television 
equipment used directly by a service 
provider primarily to provide their services. 
This exemption is effective April 1, 2014. 
From July 1, 2013 through– March 31, 2014 
all telecommunications and pay television 
machinery and equipment  were taxable. 
Fact Sheet 119, Telecommunications, Pay 
Television and Related Services.

Textbooks, including digital books, that 
are required for classes in public or private 
schools, colleges, universities, or business 
and trade schools when sold to regularly 
enrolled students. Fact Sheet 111, Schools - 
Sales and Purchases; Rule 8130.6700. 

What’s not taxable? (continued) 

Continued



10

Trade-in allowances can be subtracted before 
figuring the tax if the items traded in are also 
taxable and sold by the retailer in the regular 
course of business. Fact Sheet 167, Coupons, 
Discounts and Other Forms of Payment. 

Tree, bush and shrub removal for contrac-
tors. Tree, bush, shrub and stump removal 
services that are sold to contractors or 
subcontractors as part of a land-clearing 
contract. Fact Sheets 121A - 121C (on lawn 
care). 

TV commercials. TV commercials and items 
primarily used or consumed in preproduc-
tion, production or post-production of a TV 
commercial are exempt. Fact Sheet 163, TV 
Commercials. 

Waste-management containers and 
compactors purchased by a waste manage-
ment service provider to use in providing 
waste-management services are exempt. To 
qualify, the service provider must collect the 
solid-waste management tax on customer 
charges or on the lease or rental payments 
for the compactors or containers. Containers 
for recycling remain taxable. M.S. 297A.68, 
subd. 31.

Water utility services for residential use. 
Also exempt is unsweetened bottled water 
in any size container. Fact Sheets 102C, Soft 
Drinks and Other Beverages; 157, Residen-
tial Utilities. 

Wind energy conversion systems and mate-
rials used to manufacture, install, construct, 
repair or replace them. M.S. 297A.68, subd. 
12.

YMCA, YWCA and Jewish Community 
Centers of Greater Minneapolis and St. Paul 
memberships, both one-time initiation fees 
and periodic membership dues. Separate 
charges for the use of an association’s sports 
and athletic facilities are taxable. Fact Sheet 
124, Exercise Facilities and Health Clubs.

Sales to certain people and 
nonprofit organizations 
The following organizations are allowed to 
purchase most items exempt from sales tax. 
To claim exemption, they must give a fully 
completed exemption certificate to the 
seller, indicating the applicable reason for 
exemption on the exemption certificate. 

Charitable organizations must be operated 
exclusively for charitable purposes and be 
granted exempt status authorization from the 
Department of Revenue. To apply for exempt 
status, use Form ST16. 

Consular officials. Sales tax exemption cards 
are issued to some foreign diplomats and 
consular officials stationed in this country. 
The card will list any limitations on the 
exemption. For example, some officials 
must pay tax on hotel room charges or on 
purchases under a certain amount. 

If someone shows you a sales tax exemption 
card, check the card to make sure the pur-
chase qualifies for the exemption. You may 
also ask for additional identification. If the 
purchase qualifies, write the individual’s tax 
exemption number on your billing or sales 
invoice. Keep the invoice in your files. 

Educational organizations. Schools and 
school districts operated exclusively for 
educational purposes are exempt. Nonprofit 
professional and trade schools, scouts, youth 
groups, and youth athletic and recreational 
programs, such as Little League, etc., oper-
ated exclusively for educational purposes 
must be granted exempt status authorization 
from the Department of Revenue. To apply 
for exempt status, use Form ST16. 

Federal government. All sales to the federal 
government and its agencies are exempt. 
The purchaser must provide a purchase 
order, payment voucher or work order. Form 
ST3 may also be used. Purchases by federal 
employees are taxable, even if they are reim-
bursed by the federal government. 

Hospitals and outpatient surgical centers. 
Sales to a hospital or outpatient surgical 
center are exempt if the items purchased 
are used in providing hospital or outpatient 
surgical services. M.S. 297A.70, subd. 7. 

Most sales to local governments, including 
counties, cities and townships, are exempt 
from MN sales and use tax as defined by 
M.S. 297A.70, subd. 2, and in Fact Sheet 
176, Local Governments - Cities, Counties, 
and Townships.

Starting January 1, 2017, the exemption will 
become available to:
•	 Special districts, as defined in M.S. 6.465
•	 Any instrumentality of a statutory or 

home rule charter city, county, or town-
ship as defined in M.S. 471.59

•	 Any joint powers board or organization 
created under M.S. 471.59

In addition, local governments are eligible 
for the specific exemptions briefly described 
below: 

•	 Sales and leases of vehicles used as 
ambulances or equipped and specifically 
intended for emergency response by 

ambulance services licensed by the EMS 
Regulatory Board under M.S. 144E.10. 

•	 Biosolids processing equipment and mate-
rials incidental to installation for wastewa-
ter treatment facilities. 

•	 Bullet-resistant body armor. 
•	 Chore and homemaking services for the 

elderly and disabled that are purchased by 
a local government specifically for elderly 
and disabled individuals. 

•	 Correctional facility meals for inmates. 
•	 Emergency rescue vehicle repair and 

replacement parts. 
•	 Firefighter personal protective equip-

ment. 
•	 Fuels used in ambulances, fire apparatus 

and marked police vehicles. 
•	 Purchases by hospitals and nursing homes 

owned and operated by local governments. 
•	 Purchases by public and legislative librar-

ies. 
•	 Metropolitan Council. MTC buses, light 

rail transit vehicles and repair parts.
•	 Purchases by school districts and public 

schools. 
•	 Solid-waste disposal facility machinery 

and equipment. 
•	 Certain road maintenance vehicles for 

towns (only). This includes snowplows, 
dump trucks, street sweepers and others 
used exclusively for road maintenance – 
except for automobiles, vans, or pickup 
trucks. 

•	 Transit program vehicles that meet certain 
criteria. 

•	 Water used directly in providing fire pro-
tection.

Fact Sheets 111, Schools – Sales and Pur-
chases; 135, Fire Fighting, Police, and Emer-
gency Equipment; 139, Libraries; and 142, 
Sales to Governments.

Non-Minnesota government agencies. Sales 
to another state or another state’s politi-
cal subdivisions are not taxable if the sales 
would not be taxed in that other state. This 
exemption does not apply to sales of prepared 
food, candy, soft drinks, alcoholic beverages 
and lodging. 

Religious organizations. Churches and other 
religious organizations operated exclusively 
for religious purposes can use Form ST3 
without exempt status authorization or may 
apply for exempt status authorization from 
the Department of Revenue using Form 
ST16. 

What’s not taxable? (continued) 
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Grooming and Hygiene Products, #117F

Health Care Facilities, #172 
Health Product Exemptions, #117E 
Hospital and Nursing Home Meals, #118 
Hotels and Lodging Facilities, #141 

Industrial Production, #145 
Interstate Motor Carriers, #107
Isolated and Occasional Sales, #132 
Items for Use Outside Minnesota, #110 

Labor - Installation, Fabrication,  
Construction, and Repair  #152

Landscaping Construction Contracts, 
#121B

Laundry and Cleaning Services, #120 
Lawn and Garden Maintenance, Tree and 

Shrub Services, #121A 
Libraries, #139 
Local Governments - Cities, Counties, and 

Townships, #176
Local Sales and Use Taxes, #164 
Loggers and Log Home Builders and Sell-

ers, #153 
Logging Equipment, #108 

Manufactured Homes, Park Trailers and 
Modular Homes, #150 

Massages, #162 
Meat Processors, #126 
Minneapolis Special Local Taxes, #164M
Minnesota State Fair - Sales Tax, #140 
Mobility Enhancing Equipment, #117C 
Motor Vehicle 9.2% Rental Tax and 5% 

Fee, #136 
Motor Vehicle - Auto Body Repair and 

Services, #131A
Motor Vehicle Leases, #171 
Motor Vehicle - Mechanical Repair and 

Services, #131B
Motor Vehicle Sales and Purchases, #125 
Motor Vehicle Towing, Washing, Rust-

proofing, #113 

Fact sheets are available on many top-
ics related to sales and use taxes. You 
can download them from our website at 
www.revenue.state.mn.us or contact our of-
fice to have them mailed to you.

Advertising - Creative Promotional Services, 
#133 

Agricultural Production, #100 
Aircraft, #101 
American Indians, #160
Aquaculture Production Equipment, #130 
Arts and Crafts, #154 
Athletic Facilities, Recreational Areas, 

Resorts and Campgrounds, #123

Building Cleaning and Maintenance, #112 

Candy, #102B 
Capital Equipment, #103 
Chiropractors, #151 
Clothing, #105 
Computer Software, #134  
Contractors, #128 
Coupons, Discounts and Other Forms of 

Payment, #167 

Delivery Charges, #155 
Dentists, #175
Detective and Security Services, #114 
Dietary Supplements, #102E
Digital Products, #177
Direct Mail and Fulfillment Services, #173
Direct Selling Companies, #168 
Drugs, #117A 
Durable Medical Equipment, #117B 

Exercise Facilities and Health Clubs, #124

Farm Machinery, #106 
Financial Institutions, #138 
Fire Fighting, Police, and Emergency Equip-

ment, #135 
Food and Food Ingredients, #102A 
Food Stamps, #115 
Funeral Homes, Mortuaries, Crematories 

and Cemeteries, #165

Fact sheets 
Nonprofit - Organizations and Fundraising, 

#180
Nursery and Greenhouse Production, 

#121C

Parking Services, #166 
Petroleum Products, #116 
Pets and Pet Grooming, Boarding, and Care 

Services, #122 
Photography and Video Production, #169 
Prepared Food, #102D
Prepaid Wireless E911 and TAM Fees, 

#179 
Printing Industry, #109 
Prosthetic Devices, #117D 

Residential Utilities, #157 
Restaurants and Bars, #137 

Sales to Governments, #142 
Schools - Sales and Purchases, #111 
Selling Event Exhibitors and Operators, 

#148 
Soft Drinks and Other Beverages, #102C 
Special Local Taxes: Detroit Lakes, Giants 

Ridge Recreational Area, Mankato, 
Marshall, Proctor, Rochester,  
St. Cloud, St. Paul, #164S 

Taconite and Iron Mining, #147 
Telecommunications, Pay Television and 

Related Services, #119
TV Commercials, #163 

Use Tax for Businesses, #146 
Use Tax for Individuals, #156 
Utilities Used in Production, #129 

Vending Machines and Other Coin-
Operated Devices, #158 

Veterinary Practice, #144 

Also available: 
JOBZ Tax Exemptions: Minnesota Job Op-

portunity Building Zones

What’s not taxable? (continued) 

Resource recovery facilities must apply for 
and receive authorization from the Depart-
ment of Revenue. 

Senior citizen groups formally organized 
for pleasure, recreation and other nonprofit 
purposes must obtain authorization from 
the Department of Revenue to make exempt 
purchases. To apply, use Form ST16. 

The State of Minnesota uses direct pay, 
which means that Minnesota state agencies 
do not pay tax to sellers on purchases of 
tangible items. A Minnesota state purchase 
order is enough to document the exemp-
tion, or an exemption certificate may be 
used indicating the direct pay authoriza-
tion. Note: Charge tax on sales of services, 
meals and lodging, admissions, and motor 

vehicles to Minnesota state agencies since 
the direct pay authorization does not apply 
to these items. 

Tribal governments. All sales to Indian 
tribal governments are exempt. See Fact 
Sheet 160, American Indians. 

Veteran groups can make purchases for 
charitable, civic, educational or nonprofit 
purposes. 



12

Your sales and use tax account is set up on 
either a monthly, quarterly or annual filing 
basis depending on how much tax you owe 
each month. 

•	 Annual filing. Tax must average less than 
$100 per month. 

•	 Quarterly filing. Tax must average less 
than $500 per month. 

•	 Monthly filing. Tax averages more than 
$500 per month. 

•	 Seasonal filing. If your business is not 
open year-round, request seasonal filing. 
With seasonal status, you’ll only need to 
file returns for those periods your busi-
ness is open. 

•	 One-time filing. If you plan to make tax-
able sales in Minnesota at only one event 
or during one month, ask for one-time 
filing. Do not apply for one-time filing 
if you plan to make taxable sales in the 
future. 

If the amount of tax you report is consis-
tently higher or lower than the limits, you 
can change your filing cycle by calling our 
office. 

Due dates 
You will not receive a notice to remind you 
to file your return or pay the tax due, so 
it’s important to know the due dates listed 
below. 

Monthly filers. 20th day of the following 
month. 

Quarterly filers. April 20, July 20, October 
20 and January 20. 

Annual filers. February 5 of the following 
year. Annual filers must file on a calendar-
year basis, not a fiscal or other basis. 

Unregistered individuals filing annual use 
tax. April 15 of the following year. 

When the due date falls on a Saturday, 
Sunday or legal holiday, returns and pay-
ments made electronically or payments 
postmarked the next business day are 
considered timely. 

Record-keeping 
It’s important to keep good records so 
you—and the department—figure the cor-
rect amount of state and local tax you owe. 
Your records should include: 

•	 bills, receipts, invoices, cash-register 
tapes and any other original documents 
that support the entries in your account 
books; 

•	 exemption certificates; and 
•	 worksheets used to prepare your tax 

returns. 

Your records should show both sales (tax-
able and nontaxable) and purchases, the rate 
of tax collected on each sale and any use 
tax you paid. 

Accounting methods 
Use the same accounting method for sales 
tax as you use for income tax. If you use 
the cash method, include only payments 
received in the period of the return. For 
an accrual method, include all cash sales, 
credit sales, installment sales and COD 
sales made during the period of the return. 

If you want to change accounting methods, 
send us a letter explaining when and why 
you want to change, and showing that the 
new method will not make auditing your 
records more difficult. You cannot change 
your filing method until you receive our 
written approval. 

Statute of limitations 
We can audit your return within 3½ years 
after you file it. If there’s an error in the 
amount of tax, and the difference between 
the original amount and the correct amount 
is 25 percent or more, we have 6½ years 
to audit the return. There is no time limit 
if we find you’ve fraudulently reported tax 
information or have not filed a return. 

Penalties and interest 
You will be charged penalties and inter-
est if you don’t file or pay what you owe 
on time. Shortage of available cash is not 
a valid reason for not filing a return and 
paying the tax because sales tax is not an 
out-of-pocket expense to the retailer. Sales 
tax collected by a retailer must be held in 
trust for the state until remitted on or before 
the appropriate due date. This money does 
not belong to the retailer and should not be 
used for any other business purpose. 

We’ll send you a notice if we don’t receive 
your return or payment. If you have ques-
tions or believe we’ve made an error, call 
us immediately. We’ll work with you to get 
your account current. If you disagree with 
the outcome, refer to the notice you receive 
for information on your right to appeal. 

Failure to pay. If you don’t pay the tax on 
time, the following penalties apply: 

• 	5 percent of the tax due if the payment is 
one to 30 days late; 

• 	10 percent if it is 31 to 60 days late; 
• 	15 percent if it is more than 60 days late. 

Failure to file a return. Add an additional 
5 percent to the above penalty if you also 
don’t file your return on time. Even if your 
tax is paid timely, you must still file a return 
electronically, either over the Internet or by 
phone. A penalty will be imposed for failure 
to file a tax return within 30 days after writ-
ten demand for filing the return is given to 
the taxpayer. The penalty is 5 percent of the 
tax not paid prior to the written demand or 
$100, whichever amount is greater. 

For those required to pay electronically. 
For mandatory and associated payers, an 
additional 5 percent penalty applies to pay-
ments not made electronically. (Refer to 
Electronic payment required on page 15.)

Repeated failure to pay. There is an ad-
ditional penalty of 25 percent of the unpaid 
tax if you continually pay your tax late. 

Local taxes. If you don’t report local sales 
tax on the appropriate line of your sales 
tax return, the penalty is 5 percent of the 
amount of tax not properly reported on the 
return.

Consolidated returns. Location information 
must be provided for consolidated sales and 
use tax returns. A $500 penalty applies for 
each return not containing location informa-
tion. The privilege to file a consolidated 
return may be revoked and you may be 
required to register and file separately for 
each location. 

Interest is figured on the total tax plus 
penalty at the following rates from the date 
you should have paid the tax until the date 
the total is paid: 

	 2017  . .   4%	 2013  .  3%	 2009  . .   5%
	 2016  . .   3%	 2012  .  3%	 2008  . .   8%
	 2015  . .   3%	 2011  .  3%	 2007  . .   8%
	 2014  . .   3%	 2010  .  3%	 2006  . .   6%

The same interest rates apply to refunds. 

The law allows various ways for us to col-
lect unpaid taxes including cancelling your 
authorization to make sales in Minnesota, 
which prohibits you from doing business in 
the state. It’s a felony to continue to make 
retail sales after your authorization is re-
voked. There is also a civil penalty of $100 
for each day you continue to make taxable 
sales after authorization has been revoked. 

General filing information

Continued
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	 If receipts 
	include tax 	 Divide 		  Multiply 
	 at rate: 	 receipts by: 	 OR 	 by: 
	 9.775%	 1.09775 	 0.91091
	 9.875%	 1.09875	 0.91013
	 10.025%	 1.10025 	 0.90884
	 10.125%	 1.10125 	 0.90802
	 10.275%	 1.10275 	 0.90678
	 10.525%	 1.10525 	 0.90473
	 10.775%	 1.10775 	 0.90269
	 13.025%	 1.13025 	 0.88472
	 13.275%	 1.13275 	 0.88277
	 13.400%	 1.13400 	 0.88183
	 13.525%	 1.13525 	 0.88082
	 13.775%	 1.13775 	 0.87889
	 16.025%	 1.16025 	 0.86185
	 16.275%	 1.16275 	 0.85999

Before you start
You may need to make adjustments to your 
figures before you file your return. 

If the following items apply to sales in the 
current period, subtract them from the ap-
propriate tax type before you file. (To make 
changes to a prior period, file an amended 
return. See “Amending a return” on page 
18.) 

•	 Bad debts on sales previously reported 
if you have written them off for federal 
income tax purposes. 

•	 Cash or credit refunds given to custom-
ers. 

•	 Checks that are returned for nonsufficient 
funds if you are on the cash method of 
accounting. 

Be sure to adjust the correct tax type. For 
example, if a customer returns an item that 
was subject to Minnesota sales tax and 
transit improvement tax, be sure to adjust 
both state and transit improvement sales tax 
types. If your return shows a credit balance 
as a result of these adjustments, we will 
refund the overpayment to you. Do not take 
credit for the overpayment on other returns.

Sales tax types
When you file electronically, you will be 
asked to enter figures for only the tax types 
for which you are registered. 

Preparing to file your return

Your rights as a taxpayer
As a Minnesota taxpayer, you have the 
right to clearly understand your rights 
and responsibilities under the law, and the 
Department of Revenue is responsible for 
helping you do so. Several brochures are 
available on our website or by calling our 
office. We also want you to know how your 
information is used, and what is considered 
public and private information.

Public vs. private information
Public information about businesses regis-
tered for sales and use tax includes:

•	 Minnesota tax ID number,
•	 name and address under which the busi-
ness is registered,

•	 business name and location,
•	 registration date, and
•	 any registration cancellations.

If someone asks for specific information 
about your business, only the above infor-
mation will be provided (M.S. 270B.08, 
subd. 1).

Private information includes the informa-
tion you provide on your tax return, except 
for the public information listed above. 
Private information cannot be given to oth-
ers without your consent except to the IRS, 
other states that guarantee the same privacy 
and certain government units as provided 
by law. 

Why we ask for information. Your name, 
address, and Minnesota tax ID number are 
required for identification. 

Your taxable sales and use tax purchases 
are required to determine your correct tax. 
If you don’t provide this information, your 

return may not be accepted or processing 
of the return may be delayed. You may also 
be subject to civil and criminal penalties for 
not filing a return. 

The information on your return may be 
compared with other information you have 
provided to the Department of Revenue. 

General filing information (continued)

Continued

	 If receipts 
	include tax 	 Divide 		  Multiply 
	 at rate: 	 receipts by: 	 OR 	 by: 
	 6.875%	 1.06875 	 0.93563
	 7.025%	 1.07025 	 0.93432
	 7.125%	 1.07125 	 0.93345
	 7.275%	 1.07275 	 0.93214
	 7.375%	 1.07375 	 0.93127
	 7.525%	 1.07525 	 0.92997
	 7.625%	 1.07625 	 0.92911
	 7.775%	 1.07775 	 0.92782
	 7.875%	 1.07875 	 0.92696
	 8.875%	 1.08875	 0.91848
	 9.125%	 1.09125	 0.91634
	 9.375%	 1.09375 	 0.91424
	 9.525%	 1.09525 	 0.91299
	 9.625%	 1.09625 	 0.91216

Subtracting sales tax from receipts
If your total receipts include sales tax, you must subtract the tax from the total receipts 
before filing your return. 

Example: All prices at your restaurant include Minnesota sales tax only. The total taxable 
sales at the end of the month are $10,000. Divide $10,000 by 1.06875 (or multiply by 
.93563) to remove the Minnesota tax ($10,000 ÷ 1.06875 = $9,357). Report $9,357 on 
the General rate sales line.

If you file over the Internet, you can add ad-
ditional tax types to your return by clicking 
“Add a sales tax type.”

If filing by phone, you must register for any 
additional tax types before you file. Call 
651-282-5225 or 1-800-657-3605. 

Following are all the tax types that can be 
reported on the sales and use tax return. 

Gross receipts 
Report total receipts or sales from all busi-
ness operations for Minnesota during the 
reporting period (what you report as Min-
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nesota receipts for income tax). Include all 
taxable and exempt sales, leases and rentals. 
Do not include sales tax. You must always 
enter an amount for gross receipts. If you 
don’t have gross receipts to report, enter zero. 

General rate sales (6.875%) 
Report all taxable sales, including liquor 
sales, leases, rentals and services subject to 
the 6.875 percent tax rate. Be sure to include 
sales subject to local tax here and on the ap-
propriate local tax line.

Use tax purchases (6.875%) 
Report the purchase price of taxable items 
bought for business or personal use that 
were not taxed when you bought them. In-
clude only amounts subject to the full 6.875 
percent tax rate. Fact Sheet 146, Use Tax for 
Businesses. 

Variable-rate purchases
If you bought items in another state and paid 
sales tax at a rate lower than Minnesota’s 
rate, you owe the difference between the 
Minnesota rate and the rate paid to the other 
state. You must enter the purchase price 
of the items and the difference in the tax 
amount. 

Example: If you bought a computer in an-
other state for $3,000 and paid 4 percent tax, 
you owe 2.875 percent use tax (6.875% - 4% 
= 2.875%) to Minnesota. Enter $3,000 for 
the variable-rate purchases taxable amount 
and $86.25 for the tax amount ($3,000 x 
2.875% = $86.25; round to $86). Fact Sheet 
146, Use Tax for Businesses. 

Local city and county taxes 
The local taxes that you are registered for 
will show on your sales and use tax return. 
Report all taxable sales, leases, rentals and 
services subject to local tax on the appropri-
ate line. For a current list and information 
about local taxes, see Fact Sheet 164, Local 
Sales and Use Taxes. For information about 
the special local taxes that apply to restau-
rants, liquor, lodging, and entertainment, 
see Fact Sheets 164M, Minneapolis Special 
Local Taxes; and 164S, Special Local Taxes: 
Detroit Lakes, Giants Ridge Recreational 
Area, Mankato, Marshall, Proctor, Roches-
ter, St. Cloud, St. Paul. 

Liquor gross receipts sales (2.5%)
Two taxes apply — the 6.875 percent gener-
al sales tax rate and 2.5 percent liquor gross 
receipts tax. These taxes apply to beer, wine 
and other alcoholic beverages sold at busi-
nesses licensed to sell any type of intoxicat-
ing liquor. In addition to reporting liquor 
sales on the General rate sales line, you must 
also report liquor sales on the Gross receipts 
liquor line and on any applicable local tax 
lines.

If the amount of the 5 percent fees collected 
during the calendar year are more than the 
registration taxes paid during the year, you 
must pay the difference with your Decem-
ber sales and use tax return. 

Your December return will have two sepa-
rate lines for reporting the total 5 percent 
fees collected and the amount you paid as 
registration taxes on the vehicles that you 
hold for rental purposes. To complete your 
December sales and use tax return, report 
the tax collected and registration fees paid as 
follows:

1.	Enter the total amount of the 5 percent 
fees collected during the calendar year in 
the “Taxable” column on the “Car Rent-
als (December only)” line. (Do not report 
the taxable amount.)

2.	Enter the total amount you paid as 
Minnesota registration tax during the cal-
endar year for vehicles that you hold for 
rental purposes in the “Taxable” column 
on the “Registration taxes paid” line.

3.	Subtract the registration tax (step 2 
above) from the 5 percent fees (step 1 
above) and enter the difference as “Tax” 
on the “Car Rentals (December only)” 
line. If the result is less than zero, enter 
“0” as “Tax.”

Fact Sheet 136, Motor Vehicle 9.2% Rental 
Tax and 5% Fee.

Registration taxes paid 
Report the actual registration tax you paid 
on the vehicles you rented. This is only 
reported once per year on the December 
return. Fact Sheet 136, Motor Vehicle 9.2% 
Rental Tax and 5% Fee.

Residential solid-waste management 
(SWM) services (9.75%) 
Report mixed municipal solid-waste man-
agement services to residential generators, 
including amounts from selling bags or 
stickers to vendors for resale to residential 
generators. SWM Fact Sheet 1, Solid-Waste 
Management Tax.

Commercial SWM services (17%) 
Report mixed municipal solid-waste man-
agement services to commercial generators 
and self-haulers, including amounts from 
selling bags or stickers to vendors for resale 
to commercial generators. SWM Fact Sheet 
1, Solid-Waste Management Tax.

Non-mixed municipal solid-waste 
(Non-MMSW) SWM services ($.60 
per noncompacted cubic yard) 
List the total number of noncompacted 
cubic yards of waste. SWM Fact Sheet 1, 
Solid-Waste Management Tax. 

Preparing to file your return (continued)

Note: If the establishment has only a 3.2 
percent malt liquor license, only the 6.875 
percent tax rate and any local tax applies.

Liquor gross receipts use tax 
purchases (2.5%)
Two taxes apply — the 6.875 percent 
general use tax rate and 2.5 percent liquor 
gross receipts use tax. Report the pur-
chase price of taxable beer, wine and other 
alcoholic beverages bought for business or 
personal use that were not taxed when you 
bought them. In addition to reporting liquor 
purchases on the Use tax purchases or 
Variable-rate purchases line, you must also 
report liquor purchases on this line and on 
any applicable local tax lines.

Motor carrier direct pay (MCDP) 
purchases
If you have Motor Carrier Direct Pay 
(MCDP) authorization, add all purchases of 
qualifying repair parts and accessories, and 
leases of mobile transportation equipment. 
Enter this amount as the taxable amount for 
MCDP purchases. Multiply this figure by 
your Minnesota prorate mileage percentage, 
and then multiply the result by the 6.875 
percent tax rate. Enter the result as the tax 
amount. 
Example: You paid $4,000 for repair parts. 
Your Minnesota prorate mileage percent-
age is 5 percent ($4,000 × 5% = $200; $200 
× 6.875% = $13.75; round to $14). You 
would enter $4,000 as the taxable amount 
and $14 as the tax amount. Fact Sheet 107, 
Interstate Motor Carriers. 

Mobile home sales (4.469%) 
Report the sale of a mobile home if it is the 
first time it is registered in Minnesota and 
if it will be used for residential purposes. 
For mobile homes, enter the dealer’s cost 
of the mobile home. For new and used park 
trailers, report the selling price. Fact Sheet 
150, Manufactured Homes, Park Trailers 
and Modular Homes. 

Car rentals (9.2%) 
Report leases or rentals of passenger auto-
mobiles, vans or pickup trucks for periods 
of fewer than 29 days. Also include these 
sales on the General rate sales line. Fact 
Sheet 136, Motor Vehicle 9.2% Rental Tax 
and 5% Fee. 

Car rentals (December only – 5%) 
This fee is intended to reimburse lessors for 
the cost of registering vehicles and is only 
reported once per year on the December 
return. 
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You can both file and pay electronically us-
ing our system over the Internet. If you don’t 
have Internet access, a telephone option is 
available. Use our system to:
•	 file current and past due returns
•	 pay current and past due returns
•	 file amended returns

File early—pay later. You can file your 
return early but schedule the electronic with-
drawal of your payment for the due date. 
Other methods of payment are explained 
below—but you must still file your return 
electronically either online or by phone.

Due dates. You will not receive a notice to 
remind you to file your return or pay your 
tax so it’s important to remember the due 
dates listed below. Unless you are required 
to make accelerated payments as described 
under “Electronic payment required” (on 
this page), the due date for filing and paying 
your sales and use tax are the same. If the 
due date falls on a Saturday, Sunday or legal 
holiday, returns filed and payments made 
electronically and payments postmarked the 
next business day are considered timely. 
•	 Monthly filers – 20th day of the follow-

ing month.
•	 Quarterly filers – April 20, July 20, Oc-
tober 20 and January 20 of the following 
year.

•	 Annual filers – February 5 of the follow-
ing year.

If you do not owe any tax, you must still 
electronically file your sales and use tax 
return. 

Filing by Internet or phone
For detailed information on how to file, see 
the step-by-step instructions on our website.

To file on the Internet, go to our website at 
www.revenue.state.mn.us and login. 

If you don’t have Internet access, call 1-800-
570-3329 to file by touch-tone phone.

Note for first-time users: If you’re using the 
system for the first time and need a temporary 
password, call our Business Registration of-
fice at 651-282-5225 or 1-800-657-3605. 

Multiple users. More than one user can 
be set up to file and pay a business’s taxes 
through our online system. One person acts 
as the “password administrator” and is in 
charge of setting up users, assigning them 
passwords, and giving them access to file 
and pay taxes for the business. The password 
administrator can change a user’s password 
and access rights, remove a user or add an-
other user at any time by clicking “Manage 
account” from the main menu.

Consolidated filers. If you file a consolidat-
ed return, you must use the Internet to file. 
You can either enter the return information 
for each location separately, or attach an 
electronic spreadsheet with information for 
all locations. For either method, follow the 
instructions for consolidated filers on the 
department’s website under “Help.” Go to 
www.revenue.state.mn.us and login. Click 
on the Help tab toward the top of the screen 
and select “File a consolidated sales and use 
tax return.” 

Paying the balance due
You must pay your sales and use tax in one 
of the following ways. 

Electronically using our system. This is 
the easiest and most convenient way to pay 
your tax—and it’s free. You can do it at the 
same time you file your return, and you’ll 
get a confirmation number so you’ll know 
your transaction is completed. Follow the 
prompts on the Internet or phone system. 
You’ll need your bank’s routing number 
and your account number. Funds associated 
with any foreign banks are not accepted.

ACH debit. The ACH (Automated Clear-
ing House) debit method allows you to 
transfer funds by authorizing the Depart-
ment of Revenue to electronically debit 
(electronically withdraw funds from) your 
bank account for the amount you report via 
our online system.  Your account will be 
debited only upon your initiation, only for 
the amount you specify, and only on the 
date you specify.

To obtain the department’s ACH company 
ID, please call a sales tax representative at 
651-296-6181 or 1-800-657-3777.

Bank wire. A taxpayer may transfer funds 
from a bank account directly to the depart-
ment’s account. Instructions on how to 
make a bank wire transfer must be obtained 
by contacting the department at 651-556-
3003 or 1-800-657-3909.

Credit card. A taxpayer may access www.
payMNtax.com to make a credit card pay-
ment using Visa, MasterCard, American 
Express or Discover/Novus. Credit card 
payments are processed by Value Payment 
Systems LLC, which charges a convenience 
fee for the service.  The fee can be calcu-
lated in advance using the payMNtax.com 
fee calculator.

By paper check. If you are not required to 
pay electronically (see below) and choose 
to pay by check, you must complete and 

include a sales and use tax return payment 
voucher. If you did not receive personalized 
vouchers, go to our website and click on 
Make a Payment and then By Check. Fol-
low the prompts to create a payment voucher. 
A personalized scan line will be printed on 
the bottom of the voucher using the informa-
tion you entered. Print and mail the voucher 
with your check.

Mail your check and voucher to: Minnesota 
Revenue, P.O. Box 64622, St. Paul, MN 
55164-0622. 

Electronic payment required
Mandatory electronic payments. If you 
have a sales and use tax liability of $10,000 
or more in the state’s fiscal year (July 1 – 
June 30), you must pay all taxes electroni-
cally beginning with the next calendar year. 

Associated payers. If you are required to 
electronically pay any business tax type to 
the Department of Revenue, you must pay all 
business taxes electronically. 

When the Department of Revenue first deter-
mines you are required to pay electronically, 
there will be a message on the screen when 
you log into our system to file your sales tax 
return on the Internet. This message will ap-
pear for a short time to initially notify you of 
the requirement. 

Penalty. If you are required to pay elec-
tronically and do not, a 5 percent penalty 
(in addition to regular penalties) applies to 
payments not made electronically, even if a 
paper check is sent on time or early.

June accelerated payment. The June ac-
celerated payment is due two business days 
before June 30, and the remaining payment 
and return for June is due August 20. 

To avoid penalty, your June accelerated pay-
ment must be at least: 

•	 81.4 percent of your actual June liability, 
or 

•	 81.4 percent of your May liability, or 
•	 81.4 percent of your average monthly li-

ability for the previous calendar year. 

To avoid possible penalties and interest, it is 
important to review your account to ensure 
that you are filing and paying properly. 

Penalty. If you do not make an accelerated 
payment by the required due date or you 
underpay the amount, you will be subject to 
a penalty. The penalty is 10 percent of the 
difference between what was paid and the 
required estimate.

Filing electronically

Continued
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Requesting a Refund
Tax paid on audited periods
Use ST11-AUD, Claim for Tax Paid on 
Periods Audited for Sales and Use Taxes, to 
file a request for refund of Minnesota sales, 
use and/or local taxes assessed on a sales 
and use tax audit that has been paid in full. 
The refund request must be filed within 3½ 
years from the date the tax was due or one 
year from the date of an order assessing tax, 
whichever is later. You must attach the audit 
report and all audit schedules and exhibits.

Utility service providers
Utility service providers may use Form 
ST11, Sales and Use Tax Refund Request 
and Multiple Period Amend Return, to 
request refunds of Minnesota sales tax 
and any related local sales taxes remitted 
on behalf of their customers who are now 
requesting exemption for multiple periods. 

To qualify, you must:

•	 be in the business of providing utility 
services to customers and be currently 
registered to collect and remit Minnesota 
sales tax, 

•	 be adjusting taxable sales figures for 
more than one period, and 

•	 have refunded the tax collected back to 
your customers. 

The request must be filed within 3½ years 
from the 20th day of the month in which the 
tax was originally due. 

Disabled veterans 
Disabled veterans may request a refund of 
sales tax paid on building materials used 
to construct or remodel their homes using 
Form ST11VA, Claim for Refund-Veteran’s 
Homestead. To qualify, the construction 
or remodeling must be financed under a 
special federal grant program administered 
by the Department of Veterans Affairs. 

The request may be filed up to 3½ years 
from the date the return was due or one 
year after the order date assessing tax on an 
audit. 
This form is distributed by the Veterans’ 
Administration to veterans who qualify for 
this exemption.

Special purchase refunds 
Use Form ST11, Sales and Use Tax Refund 
Request and Multiple Period Amend Return, 
to request a refund of sales or use tax paid 
on certain exemptions. Refer to Form ST11 
for details about the exemptions that qualify 
for a refund using this form.
A request for refund may be filed up to 3½ 
years from the date the return was due. You 
may file only two special purchase refund 
claims per year. 

Capital equipment 
Use Form ST11, Sales and Use Tax Refund 
Request and Multiple Period Amend Return, 
to request a refund for capital equipment. 
To qualify, the equipment must be used for 
manufacturing, fabricating, mining or refin-
ing tangible items to be sold ultimately at 
retail; electronically transmitting results re-
trieved by a customer of an online comput-
erized data-retrieval system; or for generat-
ing electricity or steam to sell at retail. You 
may file only two capital equipment refund 
requests per year. Fact Sheet 103, Capital 
Equipment. 

For sales tax paid to a seller, the request 
must be filed within 3½ years from the 20th 
day of the month following the month of the 
invoice date for the purchase of the capital 
equipment. For use tax paid directly to the 
state, the request must be filed within 3½ 
years from the due date of the return on 
which the use tax was due, or one year from 
the date of an order assessing tax, if the tax, 
penalties and interest shown on the order 
have been paid in full, whichever period 
expires later.

Purchaser refunds 
Use Form ST11, Sales and Use Tax Refund 
Request and Multiple Period Amend Return, 
to request a refund of sales tax paid to a 
vendor in error. You may file only two pur-
chaser refund requests per year. To qualify, 
you must be registered to report sales or use 
tax and the total amount requested on each 
refund request must be over $500 in tax. 

A purchaser request for refund must be filed 
within 3½ years from the 20th day of the 
month following the month of the invoice 
date for the purchase.
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If an error was made on a sales and use 
tax return that was filed, you must file an 
amended return to correct the error using 
e‑Services, either over the Internet or by 
phone. 

However, consolidated filers must use the 
Internet system to file amended returns. 
Our phone filing system is not available for 
consolidated filers.

You are required to file an amended return 
for each return requiring an adjustment.

You must file an amended return if you:

•	 did not report enough tax on your origi-
nal return;

•	 reported too much tax on your original 
return;

•	 charged an incorrect tax rate on an item 
and will refund the tax to the purchaser;

•	 charged sales tax on an item you shipped 
directly to another state (or another city 
or county if local sales taxes are ap-
plicable) and refunded the tax to the 
purchaser;

•	 charged sales tax on nontaxable items 
and refunded the tax to the purchaser;

•	 received a valid exemption certificate 
from a customer to exempt a sale re-
ported in a prior period and refunded the 
tax to the purchaser;

•	 reported sales or purchases in the wrong 
tax type.

Do not use an amended return for adjust-
ments you can make on a current return, 
such as adjustments for:
•	 bad debts
•	 cash or credit refunds
•	 returned checks

Do not use an amended return to request 
a refund of sales or use tax paid when 
a special request for refund form is 
required. Instead, use the specific form 
indicated on page 16).

Amended returns may be filed up to 3½ 
years from the date the return was due or 
one year after the order date assessing tax 
(i.e., on an audit).

Keep all supporting documents for any 
amended returns in your records. These 
must be made available to the department if 
your business is audited. If we find that the 
amended returns were in error, you could be 
billed for the tax plus penalty and interest.

How to file
To amend a return, login on our website or 
call 1-800-570-3329 to file over the phone. 
Follow the prompts to file an amended sales 
tax return using the steps below:

1.	Select the period you are amending. 
Enter the date of the reporting period you 
are amending. On the phone, you must 
enter two digits for the month and four 
digits for the year (mmyyyy). 

Amending a return

You made sales to an organization in the 
month of May 2016, charged sales tax, 
and reported the tax on your monthly 
return. Later, the organization gave you a 
valid exemption certificate and requested 
a refund of the tax paid in error. 

The sales incorrectly taxed were: 
Month of May 2016
Gross receipts  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                        $5,500
Original general rate taxable sales  . . . . . . . .         3,500
Corrected general rate taxable sales  . . . . . .       3,000
Original sales tax paid  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                    241

Filing by Internet
1.	Select File an amended return. 

Choose the ending period for the return 
you are amending from the drop-down 
box. (If you choose “Other Period,” 
another screen will open. Select the 
ending period for the return you are 
amending.) Click Continue. 

2.	Select the reason for amending the 
return. Enter a contact name, phone 

number and explain the reason for the 
change in the text box. Click Continue.

3.	Enter “5500” in the Gross receipts line, 
(there is no adjustment to this amount).

4.	Enter “3000” (the corrected amount) on 
the General rate sales line.

5.	Enter “241” (the amount of sales tax paid 
on the original return) on the Total pay-
ments for the tax period line.

6.	Click Calculate to figure the tax. The 
system will automatically calculate the 
refund or amount due. In this example, 
there would be a tax refund of $35. 

7.	Click Continue to file the amended re-
turn.

8.	Print or save the confirmation number for 
your records. 

Filing by phone
1.	Press 3 to amend a return. Enter the end-

ing period for the return being amended 
(May 2016). To choose a period, use 

two digits for the month “05” and four 
digits for the year “2016.”

2.	Enter a two-digit reason code for 
amending the return (see reason codes 
on page 19).

3.	Enter “5500” and then the pound key 
(#) for the gross receipts line (there is 
no adjustment to this amount).

4.	Enter “3000” (the corrected general rate 
taxable sales), followed by the # key. 
Press 1.

5.	Follow the prompts for any other tax 
types for which you may be registered. 
e‑Services will calculate your amended 
return. 

6.	Press 1 if the amended return is correct, 
press 2 to repeat the total, or press 3 to 
start over. 

7.	Write down the confirmation number 
and date filed for your records.

Example

Continued
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2.	Select the reason for amending the 
return. On the Internet, you’ll select the 
reason from a list. On the phone, you’ll 
enter a two-digit reason code. See “Rea-
son codes for amending returns” on this 
page.

3.	Enter the correct taxable amounts. 
When amending a return, report the cor-
rect taxable amount for each line item as 
though you are filing the return for the 
first time. 

When entering the correct figures on the 
amended return: 

•	 round all amounts to whole dollars
•	 do not use commas
•	 use a minus sign (-) for negative numbers
•	 enter the correct taxable amount for 
each tax line as though you are filing 
the return for the first time. If there is no 
change to the amount originally reported, 
you still need to enter the correct amount 
on the amended return.

•	 complete all tax lines on the return. For 
example, if you are adjusting both Min-
nesota and Minneapolis sales tax, enter 
the correct taxable amount on each of 
those tax lines. 

Note: The system will calculate any inter-
est.

Keep your confirmation number and fil-
ing date for your records.

Balances due and refunds
The system will automatically calculate any 
amount you owe or refund you can expect. 

If your amended return results in additional 
tax due, you can either:

•	 pay the additional tax electronically the 
same time you file your return; or

•	 if you are not required to make electronic 
payments, you can pay by check, using a 
sales and use tax return payment voucher. 
Go to our website and click on Make a 
Payment and then By Check  to create 
a payment voucher. Print the voucher 
and mail it with your check. File your 
amended return electronically. 

If your amended return results in a reduc-
tion in the amount of tax due, we will 
refund it to you. Do not take credit for the 
overpayment on other returns.

If the original return you are amending was 
filed late, penalty and interest will apply to 
any additional amount you owe. Note: This 
amount will not be calculated at the time 
you file; a separate bill may be sent.

Amending a return (continued)

Reason codes for amending returns
Code	 Reason
14	 Advertising materials and exempt 

publications. Sales tax charged in-
correctly to customers (or use tax 
accrued) on exempt publications 
or advertising materials shipped 
out of state.

15	 Agricultural and industrial 
production exemption. Sales tax 
incorrectly charged to customers 
(or use tax accrued) on materials, 
packaging supplies or short-lived 
accessory tooling consumed in 
agricultural or industrial produc-
tion.

16	 Direct pay. Sales tax incorrectly 
charged to customers on items 
purchased with direct pay authori-
zation.

17	 Exempt organization/federal 
government. Sales tax incorrectly 
charged to a charitable, religious 
or educational organization; Indian 
tribal council; the federal govern-
ment; or an exempt local govern-
ment agency such as a school or 
hospital.

18	 Farm machinery. Sales tax 
charged at an incorrect rate, or tax 
charged on exempt repair parts or 
farm machinery.

19	 Interstate commerce/intercity 
or intercounty commerce. State 
sales tax or local sales tax charged 
on items shipped out of state or 
out of the local taxing area.

20	 Leases of tangible items. Sales 
tax charged on equipment that was 
part of a lease/finance agreement 
or a sale/leaseback agreement.

23	 Resale exemptions. Sales tax 
charged on items to be sold or 
leased by your customer at retail.

Code	 Reason
24	 Resource recovery exemptions. 

Sales tax incorrectly charged on 
items purchased with resource 
recovery facility exemption autho-
rization.

25	 Sales tax accounting errors. 
Incorrect taxable amount used to 
calculate tax liability on original 
return.

26	 Special tooling. Sales tax incor-
rectly charged (or use tax accrued) 
on special tooling.

27	 Including tax in taxable amount. 
Tax incorrectly included in the 
taxable amount used to calculate 
your sales tax liability.

28	 Paying tax to another state. Sales 
tax incorrectly charged (or use tax 
accrued) on items legally taxable 
in another state, when the other 
state’s tax was paid or assessed 
in an audit. (See Variable-rate 
purchases on page 14 if the other 
state has a sales/use tax rate differ-
ent from the Minnesota rate.)

29	 Tax paid twice. Sales tax charged 
and use tax accrued on the same 
transaction.

30	 Use tax accrual errors. Incorrect 
taxable amount used to calculate 
use tax liability.

31	 Utilities (electric, gas, steam, 
water or other fuels). Sales tax 
incorrectly charged on utilities 
to customer who is exempt for 
agricultural production, industrial 
production, or residential use. 
Note: If the request is for multiple 
reporting periods, use Form ST11 
(see page 16).

32	 Other. Use only if none of the 
codes listed above describes  
the error.


