

How to become a Notary Public

A notary public is a person of integrity appointed by the Governor to serve the public as an impartial and unbiased witness. The most common function of the notary is to prevent fraud by witnessing and attesting that a person signing a document is authentic.

The Office of the Minnesota Secretary of State administers the appointment process and maintains a register of persons appointed and commissioned as notaries.

New Commission

- 1. To obtain a new Commission, the applicant must
 - a. Not have held a previous commission that has expired.
 - b. Be at least 18 years of age.
 - c. Be a Minnesota resident and list the county you will be filing in upon receiving your commission.
- 2. Receive approval from your supervisor/manager.
- 3. Complete the Notary Commission Application.
- 4. Mail the application and \$120 fee to the Secretary of State.
- 5. Upon receiving your commission certificate in the mail, you must register it with your county of residence and pay a \$20 recording fee.
- 6. Purchase your Notary stamp and other supplies.

Reappointment after your Commission expires

- 1. Complete a Notary Application.
- 2. Check the Reappointment Application Type on the form.
- 3. Update any information that has changed.
- 4. Mail the application and \$120 fee to the Secretary of State.

Renewal of your Commission

- 1. All notaries must create a new account and password to access their <u>Notary Account</u> information online.
- 2. The Notary Renewal period is between August 1 and January 31.
- 3. Beginning August 1, 2021, commissions expiring January 31 of any given year will have the option of filing for renewal online or by mail.
- 4. The non-refundable notary renewal fee is \$120.

Resources

- Notary FAQ
- Notary Laws
- Notary Training and Supplies