

Minneapolis Fire Inspection Services Fire Sprinkler and Standpipe Systems Permit and Drawing Requirements

Permits Required

A permit is required when work involves the installation, replacement, removal, or exchange of components of a fire safety system. A permit is NOT required to inspect, test, or perform preventive maintenance.

Drawings Required

Drawings are required for new installations, relocation of sprinklers, addition of sprinklers, relocation of piping, change of pipe size, new piping added, etc.

Fire Suppression System Project Information Form Required

A completed form is required for each project and is to be included with the plan submittal or with the permit application when plans are not required. The form is to be completely filled out. Mark sections "N/A" if it is not applicable to the project. When hydraulic calculations are not provided with the plans, explain why the calculations are not needed.

License Required

Companies or individuals who work on fire sprinkler systems are required to be licensed by the State of Minnesota as a "Fire Protection Contractor".

Design and Installation Standards

The design is to comply with the Minnesota State Fire Code (MSFC), applicable NFPA Standards (or other FIS approved standards) and FIS Policies.

Drawing Qualities and Required Information

- Provide all the information that is required by NFPA Standards and by FIS Policy #103.
- A 5 psi safety factor is to be provided in all hydraulic calculations as required by FIS Policy #112.
- Plan submittals for preaction and deluge systems are to include plans of the fire detection system.

Permit Application

- The "Fire Safety Systems Permit Form" must be completely filled out and submitted.
- The permit fee payment is to accompany the application.
- The permit fee is based on the contract cost* (see the "Fire Safety Systems Fee Schedule") plus the plan review fee and/or a flat fee, when applicable, and also the State surcharge. *Note: The contract cost is the total price paid by the property owner and includes all material, labor, overhead, taxes, profit, etc.

EXAMPLE of Fee Section of Permit Application

Total contract cost of the project is 46,000, 30,000 of which is the cost of the fire pump, associated equipment and its installation. 46,000 - 30,000 = 16,000 contract cost. The base fee for 16,000 contract cost = 438.20(from the fee schedule) enter on line B. $438.20 \times 65\% = 284.83$ plan review fee, enter on line C. The flat fee for a fire pump is 650.00, enter on line D. Add lines B, C & D to determine the subtotal fee, enter on line E. Determine the state surcharge(based on the contract cost) and enter on line F. The total fee is determined by adding lines E & F, enter on line G.

В.	Base Permit Fee (See fee schedule)	\$438.20 (Minimum fee \$75.40)
C.	Plan Review Fee (65% of base fee)	\$284.83 (Add only if plan is required)
D.	Flat Fee (If applicable or enter 0)	\$650.00
Ε.	Subtotal (Add lines B, C & D)	\$1,373.03
F.	State Surcharge (based on the contract cost)	\$ 23.00
	(If contract cost is \$1.00 to \$1,000,000.00, state surcharge =0.0005 X the contract cost)	
	(If contract cost is \$1,000,000.01 or greater, please contact FIS staff for surcharge cost)	
G.	Total Fee (line E + line F)	\$1,396.03