Log Off Network & Turn Off Computer

Users shall secure the network and the computer workstation by logging off the network at the end of their work day. If they are the last user of a computer, they should turn off (power down) the computer at the end of their work day. This will minimize unauthorized network access and ensure that virus protection is updated regularly.

There are several ways to perform the log off and shut down tasks. These specific procedures are outlined for your convenience.

Log Off the Network

If you are NOT the last user of a machine and wish to log off the network, but not turn off the computer follow these steps:

  1. Simultaneously press the Ctrl, Alt and Delete keys.
  2. Select "Log Off" by clicking on it.
  3. At the "Are you sure you want to log off?" prompt click on "Log Off".

OR

  1. Click on "Start"
  2. Click on "Log Off".
  3. At the "Are you sure you want to log off?" prompt click on "Log Off".

The user is now logged off the network. The computer will return to the initial log on screen (i.e., Press Ctrl, Alt & Delete to begin).

LOG Off The Network & Turn Off The Computer

If you are the last user of a computer you should log off AND turn off the computer at the end of your work day. Follow these steps to achieve both actions:

  1. Click on "Start".
  2. Click on "Shut Down".
  3. Select "Shut down" from the drop down menu and click "OK".

You are now logged off AND the computer is now shut down (power off).

Roles & responsibilities

Warning

Last updated Sep 27, 2011