Mayor and City Council begin new terms

Following the inauguration of the Mayor and City Council on Monday, Jan. 4, the new City Council held its first meeting. The Council voted to name Barbara Johnson as Council President, Robert Lilligren was named Council Vice President, and the Council approved a slate of standing Committees and Committee leadership.

Council action restructures two previous committees: the Health, Energy and Environment Committee and the Public Safety and Regulatory Services Committee. Replacing them are the Public Safety and Health Committee and the Regulatory, Energy and the Environment Committee.

Also, three new Council Members officially joined the City Council: Kevin Reich in Ward 1, Meg Tuthill in Ward 10 and John Quincy in Ward 11.

Council Member Betsy Hodges was named chair of Ways & Means, and Council Member Gary Schiff was named majority leader. In addition, the Council approved a leadership slate for its standing committees.

In the Council Committee restructuring, the Intergovernmental Relations Committee has become a subcommittee of the Committee of the Whole, and will be chaired by Council Member Glidden. You can find out more about City Council committee meetings and the 2010 meeting schedule at

Jan. 07, 2010 update

Published Jan 5, 2010