Mayor and City Council inauguration is Monday, Jan. 4

Minneapolis Mayor R.T. Rybak and all 13 City Council Members, including the three newly elected members - Kevin Reich, Ward 1, Meg Tuthill, Ward 10, and John Quincy, Ward 11 - will be sworn-in at a ceremony on Jan. 4, 2010. The swearing-in ceremony will be held at 9:30 a.m., in the City Hall Rotunda, 350 South 5th Street.

Minneapolis Mayor and City Council Inauguration
9:30 – 10:30 a.m., Monday, Jan. 4, 2010
City Hall Rotunda
350 S Fifth St.

Immediately after the ceremony, the City Council will hold its organizational meeting to select a Council president and vice president, and to make committee assignments. That meeting will be held in City Council Chambers.

The oath of office will be rendered by Minneapolis City Clerk Steve Ristuben. The welcome and closing remarks will made by Minneapolis Step-Up intern Addisalem Tesfaye and the invocation will be offered by Rev. Mariann Budde of the St. John the Baptist Episcopal Church. The Minneapolis Police Department color guard and the City-County choir will also participate in the inaugural ceremony.

The inaugural ceremony will be broadcast live on Minneapolis cable channel 79. The ceremony will be rebroadcast on Jan. 4 at 6 p.m., on Jan. 7 and 8 at 9 p.m., and Jan. 10 and 11 at 9 a.m.

Published Dec 31, 2009