Guided tours explore historic local sites

Preserve Minneapolis offers tours that provide Minneapolis locals and visitors an opportunity to explore historic and architecturally significant places in Minneapolis.

On each tour, participants will hear the tour guide’s ‘stories behind the story’ and learn what makes each area unique. Many of the people leading the tours are professionals ranging from renowned architects and preservationists to veteran neighborhood planners and city activists.

Here are the tours slated for the coming weeks. For details on each tour or to register, visit www.preserveminneapolis.org. The $5 tour fee is used to help fund the tour program.

Nokomis Knoll Historic District
Saturday, July 9
10 - 11 a.m.

Minneapolis Warehouse District
Wednesday, July 13
7 - 8:30 p.m.

Historic Old Highland Walking Tour
Saturday, July 16
10 - 11:30 a.m.

Hennepin Avenue Theaters
Saturday, July 23
10 a.m. - noon

Como-Harriet Streetcar Line
Sunday July 24
2 - 4 p.m.

East Lake Harriet Parks and Residences
Wednesday, July 27
6:30 - 8:30 p.m.

Prospect Park, Then and Now
Saturday, Aug. 6
10 - 11:30 a.m.

North Side Synagogues and Neighborhood: Part I
Sunday, Aug. 7
10:30 a.m. - 12:30 p.m.

North Side Synagogues and Neighborhood: Part II
Sunday, Aug. 7
1:30 - 3:30 p.m.

West 49th Street
Saturday Aug. 13
1 - 3 p.m.

An Architect's View of Mill City Museum
Sunday, Aug. 21
1 - 2:30 p.m.

Walk With Maud - Lowry Hill East
Tuesday, Aug. 23
5:30 - 7 p.m.

Downtown Shriners Bike Tour
Saturday, Aug. 27 (rain date – Aug. 28)
10 - 11:30 a.m.

Grain Belt Brewery
Thursday, Sept. 8
5:30 - 6:30 p.m.

Loring Hill - From Farm to Fabulous
Saturday, Sept. 10
10 a.m. – noon

Nicollet Island
Thursday, Sept. 15
6 - 7:30 p.m.

Elliot Park and the 9th Street Historic District
Saturday, Sept. 17
11 a.m. - 1 p.m.

Christ Church Lutheran
First Sunday of each month
11 a.m. - noon

Minneapolis City Hall and Courthouse
Third Wednesday of each month
Noon - 1 p.m.

July 6, 2011

Published Jul. 6, 2011