Minneapolis mayor and council sworn into office

The new Minneapolis mayor and council members have now been formally sworn in, and the new Minneapolis City Council has started its work for 2014. Following today’s inauguration ceremony, the council voted to name Barbara Johnson as council president and Elizabeth Glidden as council vice president. The City Council also approved a slate of standing committees and committee leadership.

Seven new council members officially joined the City Council today: Jacob Frey in Ward 3, Blong Yang in Ward 5, Abdi Warsame in Ward 6, Alondra Cano in Ward 9, Lisa Bender in Ward 10, Andrew Johnson in Ward 12 and Linea Palmisano in Ward 13. They join six returning council members: Kevin Reich in Ward 1, Cam Gordon in Ward 2, Barbara Johnson in Ward 4, Lisa Goodman in Ward 7, Elizabeth Glidden in Ward 8 and John Quincy in Ward 11.

As part of its organizational meeting, the City Council also established a new standing committee system:

Two subcommittees were also established under the jurisdiction of the Ways & Means Committee: The Budget Subcommittee, chaired by John Quincy and including all 13 council members, will be responsible for considering budget proposals submitted by Mayor Betsy Hodges; the Information Technology Policy Subcommittee, chaired by Andrew Johnson, will oversee enterprise technology investments, policies and operational matters.

More information about City Council committee meetings and the 2014 meeting schedule is online at www.minneapolismn.gov/council.

Published Jan 6, 2014