Neighborhood & Community Relations

Crown Roller Mill, Suite 425
105 Fifth Avenue South 
Minneapolis, MN 55401
[email protected]


Neighborhood Elections for the NCEC

The Neighborhood and Community Engagement Commission is seeking 8 commissioners to advise the City of Minneapolis on community engagement and the neighborhood organization system.

How to become a commissioner

There are two ways you can apply to become a NCEC commissioner, through the City’s open appointments process or through the neighborhood selection process.

District 3 election scheduled for Thursday, September 19, 2019 at 10:30 a.m. at 4313 E 54th St, Minneapolis, MN 55417.  Voter guide here.

Mayoral & Council Appointees

Neighborhood Representatives

NCEC Neighborhood Election Process

The neighborhood election process follows the guidelines that were adopted by neighborhood representatives on April 16, 2011.

2019 NCEC election timeline. | Skip to information for neighborhoods.

Neighborhood seats up for election

District 1:

Jeff Strand was elected.

Read the voter guide for District 1.

  • Cleveland Neighborhood Association
  • Folwell Neighborhood Association
  • Hawthorne Neighborhood Council
  • Jordan Area Community Council
  • Lind-Bohanon Neighborhood Association
  • McKinley Community
  • Shingle Creek Neighborhood Association
  • Victory Neighborhood Association
  • Webber-Camden Neighborhood Organization

District 2 

Paul Junek was elected.

Read voter guide for District 2.

  • Armatage Neighborhood Association
  • Cedar-Isles-Dean Neighborhood Association
  • East Harriet Farmstead Neighborhood Association
  • Tangletown Neighborhood Association
  • Fulton Neighborhood Association
  • Kenny Neighborhood Association
  • Linden Hills Neighborhood Council
  • Lynnhurst Neighborhood Association
  • West Calhoun Neighborhood Council
  • Windom Community Council

District 3

Candace Miller Lopez was elected.

Read the voter guide for District 3.

  • Field, Regina, Northrop Neighborhood Group
  • Hale, Page, Diamond Lake Community Association
  • Nokomis East Neighborhood Association
  • Standish-Ericsson Neighborhood Association

District 5

Lolita Davis Carter was elected.

Read the voter guide for District 5.

  • Bryn Mawr Neighborhood Association
  • Downtown Minneapolis Neighborhood Association
  • Elliot Park Neighborhood, Inc.
  • Harrison Neighborhood Association
  • Citizens for a Loring Park Community
  • Northside Residents Redevelopment Council
  • North Loop Neighborhood Association
  • Heritage Park Neighborhood Association

District 7

Christy Marie Caez Claudio was elected.

Read the voter guide for District 7.

  • Bancroft Neighborhood Association
  • Bryant Neighborhood Organization
  • Central Area Neighborhood Development Organization
  • Corcoran Neighborhood Organization
  • East Phillips Improvement Coalition
  • Midtown Phillips Neighborhood Association, Inc.
  • Phillips West Neighborhood Organization
  • Powderhorn Park Neighborhood Association
  • Ventura Village
  Map of Neighborhoods and Districts for NCEC`



Election Guidelines

Election Meeting

Voting Results 



Dates have been pushed back to accommodate the extended application deadline.

- No NCEC full commission meeting in July. -

Return to top.

Not up for election in 2019

Neighborhoods in Districts 4, 6 & 8

District 4

Marcus Mills was elected in 2018.

  • Audubon Neighborhood Association
  • Beltrami Neighborhood Council
  • Bottineau Neighborhood Association
  • Columbia Park Neighborhood Association
  • Holland Neighborhood Improvement Association
  • Logan Park Neighborhood Association
  • Marcy-Holmes Neighborhood Association
  • Marshall Terrace Neighborhood Organization
  • Nicollet Island - East Bank Neighborhood Association
  • Northeast Park Neighborhood Association
  • Sheridan Neighborhood Organization
  • St. Anthony West Neighborhood Organization
  • St. Anthony East Neighborhood Association
  • Waite Park Community Council
  • Windom Park Citizens in Action

District 6

Michael Malone was elected in 2018.

  • South Uptown Neighborhood Association
    (formerly Calhoun Area Residents Action Group)
  • East Isles Residents Association
  • East Calhoun Community Organization
  • Kenwood Isles Area Association
  • Kingfield Neighborhood Association
  • Lowry Hill Neighborhood Association
  • Lowry Hill East Neighborhood Association
  • Lyndale Neighborhood Association
  • Stevens Square Community Organization
  • Whittier Alliance

District 8

Marcea Mariani was elected in 2018.

  • West Bank Community Coalition / Cedar-Riverside NRP
  • Longfellow Community Council
  • Prospect Park Association
  • Seward Neighborhood Group
  • Southeast Como Improvement Association



Past Elections


Last updated Sep 19, 2019



Contact us

Email updates

Find a service

About this site

For employees

For reasonable accommodations or alternative formats, contact 311.
People who are deaf or hard of hearing can use a relay service to call 311 at 612-673-3000.
TTY users can call 612-673-2157 or 612-673-2626.

Para asistencia 612-673-2700, Yog xav tau kev pab, hu 612-637-2800, Hadii aad Caawimaad u baahantahay 612-673-3500. 

Neighborhood & Community Relations  ©1997-2020 City of Minneapolis, MN


311 call center

311 TTY relay service

City of Minneapolis Facebook City of Minneapolis Twitter City of Minneapolis YouTube ChaNNEL Minneapolis 311 Watch Minneapolis City Council TV City of Minneapolis LinkedIn

Minneapolis, City of Lakes logo