Elections Committee Agenda

Standing Committee of the Minneapolis City Council

Regular Meeting

Friday, July 21, 2006

11:00 a.m., Room 317 City Hall, Minneapolis, Minnesota

NOTE:  All cellular telephones, pagers and BlackBerry devices to be switched to a non-audible function during Council and Committee meetings.

Council President Johnson, Vice President Lilligren, Majority Leader Benson, Minority Leader Gordon, Council Members Ostrow, Hofstede, Samuels, Goodman, Glidden, Schiff, Remington, Colvin Roy and Hodges
(Majority vote of all members, 7; 2/3 vote of all members, 9)

Council Committee Coordinator: Anne Roth (612) 673-3130

1. Instant Run-off Voting (IRV): Discussion of the following topics:

Note : Unfinished items will be discussed at the next scheduled meeting on July 26, 2006.

a. Status of the Ordinance: City Council and Charter Commission actions.

b. IRV Update: State and County partners, Municipal Elections Ordinance, Equipment availability update, Implementation timeline, Data from IRV jurisdictions on voter behavior and election outcomes.

c. Multiple Seat Offices: Which boards are included and how IRV would work.

d. Ballot Language: Regulations and draft language.

e. Comment Period.

Action Taken: No action taken

Staff Reports: IRV CR Letter; IRV Report; and DRAFT Ballot Language

Notice: A portion of this meeting may be closed to the public pursuant to Minnesota Statutes Section 13D.03 or 13D.05.

Next Elections Committee Meeting: Wednesday, July 26, 2006

Next City Council Meeting: Friday, August 4, 2006

English - Attention. If you want help translating this information, call - Hmong - Ceeb toom. Yog koj xav tau kev pab txhais cov xov no rau koj dawb, hu (612) 673-2800 Spanish - Atención. Si desea recibir asistencia gratuita para traducir esta información, llama (612) 673-2700 Somali - Ogow. Haddii aad dooneyso in lagaa kaalmeeyo tarjamadda macluumaadkani oo lacag la’ aan wac (612) 673-3500

Last updated Oct 18, 2011